10 Minute Trainer: Day 15 (Cardio)

**********WARNING: After the part about 10 Minute Trainer, there is some very geeky martial art talk in this blog. I will forgive anyone who tunes out at that point.**********

Another day, another hurricane of sweat running down my body. I don’t know what it is about this particular workout, but I still feel like it is giving me results. (Then again, what am I talking about? I’ve been committed to this workout for just barely over two weeks!)

In other Team Beachbody news, I bought the Deluxe Upgrade for the 10 Minute Trainer. This includes workouts that focus on:

*Total Body
*Core Cardio
*Upper Body
*One on One Lower
*Plyo Intervals
*One on One Upper
*Cardio Intervals
*Chest and Back
*Friday Night Arms

I am especially anxious to try this one because it ties into wing chun more than the original 10 Minute Trainer. How so? Because wing chun focus mostly on punching and other hand techniques. Therefore, a lot of upper body strength can benefit a wing chun practitioner.

Speaking of wing chun, I was excited about something I came up with SORT OF on my own yesterday. It relates to something Sifu told me the last time I went to class. He was watching me perform chum kiu (the second form, translated to “seeking the bridge”), and there is a section where you face one direction doing a lan sao (I believe this translates as “bar arm”) with the other arm in chamber. Then you pivot forward to what is called a “side stance” (facing forward, but all your weight is on your left or right side), and do a bong sao (“wing arm”) with your other hand in wu sao (“guarding hand”). Your next move is to pivot back so you are facing the side again; your wu sao goes back to chamber and your bong sao returns to lan sao; the focus here is on the elbowing motion. The section in question here starts at 0:55 in this video:

Sifu told me I was focusing on the wrong part: I was putting emphasis on wu sao going back to chamber instead of bong sao returning to lan sao. I thought about it ever since, and yesterday I came up with a drill to improve this: to keep the focus completely on my bong sao-lan sao, I keep my other hand in chamber THE ENTIRE TIME. So I face the side with my lan sao with the other hand in chamber…pivot to the side stance with my bong sao and KEEPING THAT OTHER HAND STILL IN CHAMBER…then turn to face the side once more with the bong going back to lan sao. I’ve been doing this only since yesterday (and even then, only a couple times throughout the day), and I can ALREADY feel how it has improved that part of the form for me.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

