10 Minute Trainer:Day 23 (Total Body)

Damn, I forgot how much of a workout the Total Body routine is! Now I see why they give you a couple days of what I call “non-workout workouts.” (By that I mean Yoga Flex and Cardio.) It’s so that you don’t get TOO adjusted to the Total or Lower Body routines. I’ve heard of this before: it’s known in the fitness world as “muscle confusion theory.”

In other news I went to wing chun class last night. Sifu had us working a drill where we focused on our aggression. No matter what kind of punch he came at us with, we were to step in and do a straight blast. (I will provide a video about that rather than describe it because it’s much cooler to watch!) At first he didn’t even want us to bother blocking the attack…just step forward and blast. I can’t think of a better drill to work on aggression than that. My problem: too much tension in my shoulders. You are supposed to punch and relax, punch and relax, punch and relax.

As promised, here is that straight blast video. It is short and sweet. The guy without the helmet is Paul Vunak, who is actually a jeet kune do practitioner (I believe he was certified by Dan Inosanto, who himself was certified by Bruce Lee…who, in turn, was originally a wing chun man). Jeet kune do’s straight blast approach is slightly different than wing chun, but this is good enough to show you what it is. Whenever he throws one punch right after the next, THAT is the blast.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

