The REAL Wing Chun Blog

I mentioned wing chun in the previous blog’s title but then got so long-winded about 10 Minute Trainer that I didn’t even get around to it!

In any event, I was just going to write about recent developments in my training. First of all I have been doing the forms and the “one to ten, ten to one” punching drill at least once on a daily basis ever since I went to class last week. I’m already noticing a difference in my punches…relaxing more after each one. It’s important to keep in touch with that philosophy of relaxing, especially since I’m doing more working out and with weightlifting you have to REALLY BE INTENSE…and notice the word “tense” is neatly hidden in that last word there!

Another thing that happened at class is I recalled an old punching exercise engaged in by the late, legendary Bruce Lee that I used to do but forgot about. My plan is to work this back into my training. It’s a pretty neat drill actually. Here’s how it works:

*You get yourself some dumbbells of varying weights. From what I recall Bruce had 2-, 5-, 8- and 10-lb. dummbbells for this drill. Until you build your strength up, 10 is about as high as you should go anyway.
*You practice your punches with empty hands. Do ten on one side this way. It doesn’t matter which side you start with, but stick with one side until the drill has run its course.
*After the empty hand set, keep doing sets of ten but now while holding the weights.
*After the last set of ten with the 10-lb. weight, do ANOTHER set with the 10. Then go down in heaviness until you are back to empty handed.
*Repeat on the opposite side.

The goal of this drill? If you can punch pretty fast even when you are holding the weights (especially the 10-lb. dummbbel), then you will be MONSTER when you are empty-handed! Plus does anyone remember this old physics equation?

force=mass x acceleration

Even if you don’t have much mass, you can always increase the force by increasing acceleration! I can’t wait to get back into this drill. At first I might only do it on an “every other day” basis, but who knows? If I get hooked, I will MAKE time to get it in there!

http://www.beachbodycoach.com/wcman100

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

