Intermission

There isn’t really much to write about today, since I don’t start up the workout again until tomorrow. I did my forms and the “one to ten, ten to one” punching drill. Didn’t bother to do the punching with weights yet because I don’t have a 5- or 8-lb. dumbbell. In my mind I don’t see the point in doing something until I can do it 100% right.

I guess there is one thing I want to write about, as I was thinking about it at work when they cancelled overtime on us for the next two days. (Back when I got hired they said overtime wasn’t guaranteed, but that doesn’t make it SUCK any less when I don’t have that extra pay.) It was a little mantra (for lack of a better term) that I came up with when I was debating whether or not I should take the Team Beachbody plunge. Usually when there is something I’m thinking about doing, I make a list of all the pros and cons of doing it. Notice I said I do the pros first. Well, this time my list was a little unusual. I talk about the negative things first. Why? Because it makes the positives sound that much better, and it STILL does every time I read this thing.

I wrote this little passage several weeks ago and thought about putting it on here after I first wrote it, but paranoia set in before I had the chance. I started to worry that maybe one of my coworkers would read it. Now why would that matter? Well, you see, my job is full of little sneaks and snitches who would love to rat you out over anything and everything. Given what is in this writing, I could totally foresee them running back to management with the entire passage. But you know what? Even if they do, F*** ‘em!!! I’m not saying anything about my job that they haven’t already thought themselves. Besides, now that I think about it, none of the people at work that I consider snitches would see this blog anyway because I would never even tell them it existed!

So without further ado, this is the passage I wrote that keeps me motivated to stick with Team Beachbody so I can eventually turn it into my sole source of income.

*****

“I HATE…”

I hate coming to this place first thing in the morning.

I hate having to rush to get ready so I can leave my wife and son.

I hate coming to a place where I have to slave away but get no respect, while people who goof off (but earn more) are treated like royalty.

I hate being talked to like I’m an idiot.

I hate having conversations (with adults!) that I haven’t had since kindergarten.

I hate the fact that all I do is type, take messages, file, and print stuff.

I hate that my job has nothing to do with my education, nor is it related to something I love.

I hate that people keep telling me, “At least you have a job.” If my job was having someone spit in my face all day (which is pretty much what happens here…figuratively speaking), would you still tell me to shut up and stop whining?

“I LOVE…”

I love the idea of being my own boss.

I love the idea of making money off things I already did (like make a Shakeology sale).

I love the thought of not having to rush.

I love the idea of a job where you actually feel challenged, and there is no cap on how much you can grow or improve.

I love the fact that, while Team Beachbody doesn’t relate to my education, it DOES relate to something I am passionate about.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in team beachbody. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Intermission

  1. Pingback: Best Ab Exercises: Dumbbell Jack Knife

Leave a Reply

