10 Minute Trainer: Day 8 (Total Body-Core Cardio)

Well, after tonight I think it is pretty much a given that I need to upgrade to 30 minutes now. I was a little bit tired at the end of Total Body, but not so bad that it was a struggle to get through Core Cardio. For the rest of the week I will just do whatever the autoschedule gave me. Then, when I start the third week, I will go full steam ahead with 30 minutes.

Ever since my last wing chun class, I have been whipping through sil lum tao and biu jee so that I can focus mainly on chum kiu. I still perform them to the best of my ability, but right now I am worried more about refining chum kiu the most. That is where you start to pivot and use your whole body to get power into your attacks. In fact I think the two most important forms in the whole style are sil lum tao and chum kiu. Biu jee is more of what they call a “desperation form;” it features techniques that you would use in a fight if you lost control of the centerline. The dummy form basically uses what you have learned in the first two forms. As for the pole and knives…well, I have no experience with the knife form and don’t remember much of what I learned on the pole. I DO remember that I never finished it.

There is so much else lining up now, things are just barely over the horizon. If I can just get back to a job with normal hours, then I could go to wing cun more often and get better faster. Sifu said to me one night, “Getting a good handle on the style is within your grasp. You just need the hands on experience.” So that is my goal: to do something so I can get it!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10 Minute Trainer: Day 8 (Total Body-Core Cardio)

  1. Training is such a vital part of preparation for a game, you really do train to play. It tops up your ability, like sharpening a carving knife. You can get away with not doing it for a while, as long as you have reached a certain standard of fitness. Graeme Le Saux

Leave a Reply

