10 Minute Trainer: Day 9 (Cardio-Core Cardio)

I realize some of you who don’t have the 10 Minute Trainer DVDs will wonder what the difference is between the two workouts in my subject line. It is very easy to explain: Core Cardio includes workout moves that develop the core of your body, which naturally includes your abs. Pretty simple, eh?

And now, for just a few words about wing chun while they are on my mind…

There are some things wing chun has taught me that go beyond punching and kicking. One of them is that you should never say, “Well, that’s it…I am the best I will ever be.” You should always strive to do better. This goes not only for wing chun, not only for writing, not only for music, not only for how fit you are, but also for your personality…your spirit…your way of interacting and caring for others.

Aside from the style itself (and all the lessons from it that can be applied to other parts of life), I am glad for other things that wing chun has opened my eyes to, like Taoism. The philosophy of Taoism flows all throughout wing chun, and I have gained a lot of insight into myself from the main book associated with Taoism: the TAO TE CHING. The main lesson I learned from it? To flow with your surroundings instead of resist them. (This is one of the major features of wing chun: to flow WITH your opponent’s strength instead of against it.) As far as I’m concerned, this idea can be summed up in the English phrase “roll with the punches.” I always try to follow this advice. I don’t always succeed, but dammit I try.

One other thing wing cun has taught me: to be analytical. I read a blog once where someone called wing chun “a martial science instead of a martial art.” I agree with that. It has taught me how to analyze all aspects of my life, not just martial arts. This has helped me out a lot because, on those occasions when I DO decide to criticize something, I’m the kind of person who actually takes the time to look into and investigates things before I run my mouth. I back my arguments up with FACTS…not figures that I just pulled out of thin air, or statements that are just flat out lies.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.