10 Minute Trainer: Day 12 (Abs-Total Body-Chest and Back)

I woke up ahead of just about everyone else today, so I decided to get my workout done BEFORE workout. Not sure if that was a mistake or not, since work is so boring that I fall asleep there sometimes even when I’m NOT feeling worn out. (In case any of you snitches from work are reading this: rest assured, I am only joking about that.)

In any event, I got a pretty damn good burn from the abs and total body workouts, but they were BOTH dwarfed by the madness that was Tony Horton’s one-on-one chest and back routine. Actually I had the same problem with this routine that I do with my abs: my lower back starts to hurt long before my chest muscles do. I won’t be able to do this before the New Year, but I HAVE to go in for some physical therapy about that. My doctor said the lumbar pull from way back when should have healed, so he thinks this is indicative of another problem going on. That gives me hope because maybe it is something that can be fixed and I can feel the burn where I’m supposed to. In the meantime I will keep doing as I do, which is stop to rest when my back aches too much. Better to make the muscles get SOME kind of workout instead of none at all.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

