10 Minute Trainer: Day 14 (Cardio-Core Cardio-1 on 1 Upper-Friday Night Arms

You’re ready that subject line right: I did FORTY massive minutes today. To be honest I didn’t notice myself being any more worn out than when I did thirty, but that isn’t the point of doing that fourth one at the end. I’m trying to build my arms up for wing chun.

There are two moves in the cardio workout that I don’t really care for: off the line and defensive slide. On top of that, I didn’t have any room to do the “circle run” section either. Instead what I did was replace each minute of these drills with a wing chun form, going right through the three empty hand forms (sil lum tao, chum kiu, and biu jee). The latter two forms are a bit longer, so what I had to do was crank up the speed so I could get done in time for the next part of the workout. Actually got up quite a sweat having to do that!

In the core cardio section, there was one maneuver I didn’t have room for, and you know something? I can’t remember the name of it right now! It’s this move where you stand in a squat, put your arms out at your side and bend them at the elbows. Then you twist your waist three times (bringing your arms out in front of you), then do a little skip to the left and repeat. Skip to the left three times total, then skip back to your original spot. I had no room to do this, so instead I replaced this technique with the Charleston kick from the original cardio program. That is one thing I love about these workouts: if there is a move you don’t like or cannot do, then you simply replace it!

What I neglected to remember about the final two workouts is that they share some of the same moves. Obviously, any arm workout is going to have bicep curls. Well the one on one upper body had that too. Pretty much the only thing to be found in Friday Night Arms that wasn’t in the One on One Upper Body were the forearm exercises. I just hope it wasn’t too much on my arms. As I am sure most of you know, you CAN have too much of a good thing. Burn out the muscle too much and you won’t get any growth at all.

However, that little misstep aside, I feel like today was a damn good day.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody. Bookmark the permalink.