10 Minute Trainer: Day 21 (Cardio-Core Cardio-1 on 1 Upper)

Damn, still no P90X in the mail today. That is okay though because I still have seven days left to this 10 Minute Trainer program. As much as I want to do the big X, I also want to follow through and complete this series. After all if I can’t commit to one, then how am I going to survive the ass-kicking of the other?

Went to wing chun last night and got another piece of advice about the chum kiu form, specifically the section where you do two long bong saos and then flip up to two tan saos. (If you don’t know what that means, don’t worry. Any time I talk about wing chun, I know I am really just talking to myself.) I wasn’t releasing the energy right, but Sifu showed me how to do it right. Also, I hung out for a little while after he was gone and browsed through a book he had by our Sihing Yip Ching. (He is MY teacher’s teacher, and also the son of the late Yip Man, who of course taught Bruce Lee.) I was looking through the book specifically to read up on the sections of the dummy form that I had forgotten. Ages ago, I used to know the whole thing. When I started attending class again, I realized I could remember only about 75% of it. However, the book brought my memory back. Now all I need is for Sifu to see me do the sections to make sure I am doing them right. (After all, this book had no pictures so I am guessing at how to do the moves.) There is one section that starts with a high and low gan sao that I can’t quite recall right, but he can straighten me out. I am excited about remembering the whole form though because that kind of justifies me getting my own wooden dummy someday.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

