P90X: Day 8 (Chest and Back-10 Minute Trainer Abs)

I decided to swap out Ab Ripper X with 10 Minute Trainer Abs because the exercises that involve holding the legs off the ground irritates my lower back IMMEDIATELY, and there are a TON of those in Ab Ripper X. 10 Minute Abs wasn’t too bad. In fact, it was kind of too easy. For a moment I considered going through it a second time, but then I thought, “If I can’t do sixteen minutes of X, then how can I do twenty minutes with the other?” Of course, the answer is self-explanatory: as I wrote above, 10 Minute Trainer doesn’t involve the legs in the air so much, so I probably could have done it…but oh well, I didn’t. Lesson learned for next time.

I couldn’t believe how well chest and back went today. Still feel pretty miserable about the chin-ups, and I hate reverse grip; my wrists feel kind of strange on the way up, like they weren’t meant to go that way. (A matter of bad form, maybe?) However, I was surprised at myself when it came to push-ups. For the first round through, I did maybe 10-15 every time a set of push-ups came along. However, in round two I was somehow doing 20 OR MORE each time. I don’t know how I pulled that off, considering I was more tired than when I started, and yet that was how many reps I did.

Didn’t do any wing chun yet today. Figure I can do the forms and “one to ten, ten to one” drill at work, then save the punching with weights for home.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.