P90X: Day 15 (Chest and Back-10 Minute Trainer Abs)

Man, talk about bringing it! For some reason I couldn’t fall asleep last night so I stayed up until about 3am typing up a comic book script I’m working on. Then I got up at 7:30am. After years of working an office job, I am just programmed to wake up then. However, despite the small amount of sleep, I was able to get out of bed and press play!!! (Maybe it is because I was so exhausted that the four hours I DID get were solid, uninterrupted sleep. I still don’t understand the mystery of how sleep really works. There have been times when I got twice as much rest but felt like I didn’t sleep at all. That is certainly a topic worth looking into, especially since people who push it like this really need to recover.)

I have had a lot going on besides fitness. There is the aforementioned comic book script, which is only part 2 out of 5. The handwritten version clocked in at a whopping 362 pages. So far I have typed up to page 62, which dropped down to 52 when typed. Still, it is going to be a mammoth. Also on the writing front, I am trying to figure out how to divide my time between the comic book script and editing/rewriting a short novel I wrote called THE SIZE CURSE. Why? Because Barnes and Noble has this neat little tool called PubIt, which will allow me to actually publish the novel and get the word out there. It’s not for everyone, but I think those who love it will REALLY love it. In other words it will be a “cult” novel, like BRAZIL and HAROLD AND MAUDE were cult hits (movies that bombed at the box office but found a huge audience on home video later). They cal it “cult” not because people are brainwashed into following some weird ideology, but because the people who love these books/movies/musicians become absolutely NUTS over them.

Then I have been working on “cue cards” for some wing chun videos I wanted to make. Each video will focus on one particular technique. I will demonstrate the technique in the air, then on a partner. This particular project is related to something else I am working on. (For more info, see the next paragraph!)

Before Kenpo X went all wonky on me, I took notes from start to finish on all the moves Tony and company went through. This includes the warm-up exercises AND the kenpo techniques. The reason for this is I want to model a wing chun workout on Kenpo X. Some of the techniques could actually be the same thing, except modified to the way a wing chun practitioner would do them. I have been putting this on the back burner because of the above mentioned writing projects, not to mention I wanted to post the wing chun videos first. Why? Because Coach Shu was going to help me out with this, but our schedules are so hectic and different that we don’t know if we can ever get in the same room to go over it. Therefore, if he sees the videos over the computer, he can advise me THAT WAY as to how I should string the techniques together to form a real killer workout!

Keep pressing play!

http://www.beachbodycoach.com/wcman100

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.