P90X: Day 23 (Core Synergistics)

This is just what I needed. To be honest I was falling into the same rut with P90X that I was when I owned only the basic set of 10 Minute Trainer DVDs: I was starting to hope for some variety…and then along came Core Synergistics, and my excitement over this program received yet another boost (The first one came when I started it out on January 2.)

I don’t know what it was about this workout, but it was the first time (aside from 10 Minute Abs, which related more to my back problems than weak abs problems) that I felt like I wouldn’t make it through. It was brutal…and beautiful. There were some moves I couldn’t even do (again, thanks to my back), but I was able to keep pace with everyone about 75-80% of the time. Not back for a guy who was voted Most Likely to Stay Blubbery in my graduating class.

In other big news today, I finally sat down and hammered out a rough draft for my wing chun exercise routine (both warm-ups and the workout itself). The only missing piece of the puzzle is a cool down section, which I will work on soon. It’s amazing to me that I have been thinking about developing this routine ever since summer, when I first heard of Kenpo X. Then, after finally viewing kenpo, I was like, “Damn…how am I going to do this?” After all that, I sit down with pen, paper, and my Kenpo X notes…and pretty much build the thing all in one day!

Just goes to show you: when you see a problem from far away, it turns out to not be as big as you though once you finally get up close to take it on.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.