P90X: Day 26 (Core Synergistics)

For some reason I was positive that today was Yoga X, which of course I hate. However, I was going to replace THAT workout with the Fountain of Youth. All day I was prepping myself mentally to do an exercise routine that is pretty much just stretching and balancing…so imagine my surprise when I got home and found out it was THIS intense workout!

I wasn’t ready for it, but I pressed play anyway. And you know what? I was pleasantly surprised by how well I performed. There were some problem areas, like any move that involved “banana.” (It was a matter of how much this move hurt my lower back.) Other than that, it was another day of keeping pace with Tony and the gang for about 90% of the routine.

I gave a lot more thought to wing chun today too. Sifu gave me permission to teach my wife and kids. For my wife I have a fairly good idea where to start, but for some reason I don’t know where to start with my kids. There is a lot of stuff to know/retain, which is hard enough for an ADULT to do. Imagine how long it would take a kid to get the hang of things!

Aside from them, I was also thinking about my own training. It was somewhere around 2002 or so that Sifu actually started showing me the pole form. (For those of you who don’t know: in wing chun there are only six forms total. Three of them are empty-hand forms. The other three involve specific tools: the wooden dummy, the pole, and knives.) I’d really to get back into that. Hell, it has been so long that I don’t even remember how much of it I knew! Maybe he will show it to me again. Won’t hurt to ask.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.