P90X: Day 33 (Legs and Back-Wing Chun X)

The obvious surprise of today’s workout is that I did a test run through the rough draft of Wing Chun X instead of doing Ab Ripper X or 10 Minute Trainer Abs. Why? Two reasons: (1) I felt like running through it to see how it worked and flowed, and (2) I have been running around all day on very little sleep, so I didn’t want to push it with either of the ab routines. Running through Wing Chun X meant being able to go at my own speed, which I knew would be slow because I had to take breaks through it so I could make tiny adjustments here and there.

First I want to answer one question that some of you might be asking: how did Wing Chun X turn out? Well, to be honest I am not sure LOL. I was sweating, but I couldn’t tell if it was just leftover fatigue from Legs and Back or not. Next time I try this, I’m thinking I should run through Wing Chun X FIRST. That is the only way I can really gauge how well it works. Also it makes sense in the long run anyway because WCX is meant to be more of a cardio-based routine; in other words it could warm you up for whatever workout you do that day.

Now, on to Legs and Back. Today it finally hit me how well this muscle confusion theory works because I haven’t done this set in a while. The first exercise is call balanced lunges, where you put one foot up on a chair behind you and then go up and down on the other leg. There are twenty-five reps on each side. I did my left leg first, and I felt like I was in trouble after only ten reps! With each day that passes I gain more and more faith that I have made the right choice by committing to this workout.

Speaking of faith in it, I was reading a description of P90X somewhere, and the article said, “P90X promises you a ripped body in 90 days.” Well, let me tell you how many ways that is a stupid misinterpretation of what the program is all about. First of all, if you are only 5’7″ tall and weigh 400 lbs., then you WILL NOT have a ripped physique in 90 days. Second, the program doesn’t make any wild claims like, “Do this for 90 days and you will have a chiseled physique for the rest of your life.” No…they do NOT make that claim. Just like any other workout regimen, YOU HAVE TO KEEP GOING PAST THE INITIAL 90 DAY RUN, or else you will lose everything you have worked so hard for.

There was another criticism someone had of P90X and Team Beachbody workouts, but I can’t remember where I read it. At any rate they were talking about how TBB doesn’t really care if you get fit and all they want is your money. Their proof was because once you bought P90X and went through that, then you “had” to buy a ton of other programs like Turbo Jam and so on. Again, WRONG! You don’t HAVE to do anything, and Team Beachbody does not EXPECT you to. I mean, I have seen videos that provide in-depth looks at programs like Insanity and RevAbs; they look awesome and I WANT to get them, but I don’t HAVE to. No one at Team Bechbody will ever say there is anything that you “have” to do. So don’t believe the BS. Talk to someone who has REALLY done these workouts and knows about it all first-hand. I don’t know everything, but I do know Beachbody really is just trying to promote a way of fitness that is an alternative to having to drag yourself back and forth to the gym every night. If you are someone with an overloaded schedule (like me) and working out at home means you can finally stay fit, then at least one of these programs might be just what you need.

Anyway, I am done ranting.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.