P90X: Day 55 (10 Minute Trainer Yoga Flex)

Okay, I know the subject line is confusing. I said I am doing P90X, but then I bring up 10 Minute Trainer? Well, let me tell you what happened.

Today I got all my kids, but on top of that there was an INSANE amount of running around we had to do. Let me illustrate: I got Aiden by 10:15AM, and we didn’t get home until almost 4:00. Yes, it was THAT kind of nutty day! So I didn’t get a chance to do any wing chun OR workout.

On top of that, there is this little assignment Coach Shu has me doing…but I hadn’t done anything on it for the last two days. That got me thinking: “Well, once the kids go to sleep, maybe I should just do Yoga Flex from 10 Minute Trainer then make up for three days’ worth of this assignment.”

We had dinner, the kids went to sleep, and I got to work. To my surprise, I was able to make up for 99% of what I had missed in less than fifteen minutes! That got me thinking that maybe I should do Fountain of Youth, but then I had a brilliant idea: there are four wing chun forms I know in their entirety (sil lum tao, chum kiu, biu jee, and the wooden dummy form), and I haven’t had a chance to do ANY of them yet today. How about I do a form, and then run through 10 Minute Trainer Yoga Flex? That way, I will do FORTY MINUTES of yoga (which is almost the same length as Fountain) as well as getting the workout from my wing chun forms!

So that is what I did, and let me tell you: the variety it provided was AWESOME. I don’t think I have ever enjoyed a yoga day more than this one. Who knows? Maybe this is the pattern I will keep up on every yoga day from this point on.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.