P90X: Day 69 (Kenpo X-Ab Ripper X)

Look at that: three weeks left to this program! It feels so good to have made this much progress.

Today, team member Mike (musclebod) drove down to my house to meet in person and get a preview of P90X and the martial art I study (wing chun kung fu, for those who haven’t read any of my other posts). We watched the “How to Bring It” DVD, then ran through Kenpo X together. He really connected with and appreciated what Tony was driving at with the workout. If I’d had time, I would have at least sat Mike down to watch one of the weightlifting workouts. Oh well…he ordered it, so he will know soon enough! Then I showed him the basics of wing chun. From my end, it was a lot of fun to be asked questions by someone who hadn’t really seen anything like this style before because he had “what if” questions that I hadn’t thought of, so it was educational for me just as much as it was for him.

Later on my friend Kate came over, and I jokingly suggested she should get on the floor with me for Ab Ripper X. To my surprise, she actually did! Just like me she couldn’t do all the moves, but she enjoyed herself enough to give 10 Minute Trainer Yoga Flex a try. After that I showed her how you use the resistance bands with other 10 Minute Trainer workouts and, to my surprise, she said, “We gotta try one of those!” We did a run through Total Body and had a blast. Don’t know if I will get her to join up with us as a team member, but the seed has been planted!

All in all, a very productive day for wing chun AND Team Beachbody.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.