P90X: Day 82 (Legs and Back-10 Minute Trainer Forearm Club)

Well, who would have believed it? I think I may have come up with my forearm routine! Tonight’s run-through was a lot better than the previous time. However, I am always skeptical of how good something I created is, whether it is a story, a song, or even a workout routine. In other words I will have to run through this thing one more time before I decide it is the best it can be. There have been some subtle changes since last time, so I will run through the whole thing again. Also, unless otherwise stated, these moves are all done for a minute.

1) Palm Up/Palm Down Curl
*I used a medium resistance band. I curled 8 times with my palms up, then another 8 with my palms down. I think one adjustment to be made is to switch every 10 seconds. Divide that into a minute you get 6, which would mean 3 sets each for each variation.

2) Towel Grip Dumbbell Curls
*Still not too sure about how to do this one best. Tonight I used my 10-lb. dumbbells because they have a piece of rubber in the middle of the grip and, when I did a test run with them, this kept the dumbbell from slipping. However, tonight the dumbbell did indeed shift on me. I really like this exercise, but from now on I should tie the towel around the bar so it won’t slip out and land on my foot!

3) Grip Hangs
*This one is still pretty much the same thing: grab your chin-up bar and hang. If your forearm muscles are not strong enough, then you can always use a chair.

4) Straight Arm Forearm Blaster
*I used a light resistance band for this one. It is a move featured in 10 Minute Trainer One on One Friday Night Arms.

5) Hand Grip Squeeze
*I decided to use both techniques that I asked about in a previous post, where you can either squeeze multiple times (“Ballistic”) and where I just held the squeeze (“Static”). I started out with ballistic and squeezed as many times as I could for 30 seconds. Then I did the static ones and held the squeeze for the other thirty. Clean and simple. 🙂

6) Lever Lifts
*I bought a dumbbell handle and three different weights: 2.5, 5, and 10 lbs. I put 7.5lbs. on one end of the handle. Then I simply moved it up and down like a lever.

7) Wrist Rollers
*I have this piece of equipment that is simply called a wrist roller (I think…I am too lazy to look it up right now). It is a bar with a rope attached to it. At the end of the rope you can put weights on it. Then you roll the weights up and down. This is a KILLER on your forearms. I could do only 5lbs. myself.

8 ) Weighted Twists
*Again I used the dumbbell handle, although this time it was with only 2.5lbs. You rest your forearm across your leg or a workout bench. Then you simply twist your hand with the weight left and right.

9) Weighted Walk
*This works on your pinching/holding strength. I took hold of the end of two 10-lb. dumbbells and then simply went for a walk for a minute.

10) Resistance Band “Lop Sao”
*For this exercise I used a heavy resistance band and the door attachment. I did a wing chun technique called “lop sao,” fifteen seconds on each side for a minute so I did two sets per side.

My wife wasn’t around tonight to film me but, since I think this pretty much solidifies the routine, you can bet she will get me on camera next time I do it!



Bookmark & Share

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, team beachbody. Bookmark the permalink.