My Fitness Experience-Part 1

It all started when my last band broke up, and I decided it was time to leave music behind. I have always had two big dreams in my life: I either wanted to be in a band that achieved SOME level of fame (I would have been happy being an “indie rock” band with a small but fiercely devoted fan base…never really wanted to be an arena rock god) or I wanted to get good enough at wing chun to open my own school someday. I don’t live the kind of life where I have the time to do both, so for a long time I chose music over wing chun.

When it comes to music, you have to depend on other people for several things: their schedules have to match up with yours, they have to be dependable, their goals have to be similar to yours, AND they have to have egos that run on the small side. Sadly, my last band broke up due to something involving the last thing on that list. (Here is a tip: if you are a guitar player and you really want to be in a two-guitar band, make sure the other guitarist does NOT write songs because their ego will be hurt if the other band members like YOUR songs better!)

After this split-up, I had an epiphany: I had picked the wrong dream for all these years. Think about it: with wing chun, Sifu has class Monday through Thursday. If I can’t make it one night, then I can go on another. No need to worry about practicing being shot for two weeks when one or more people can’t make it. Second, the ego problem is pretty much avoided because, when you think about it, there are only two people I have to depend on: I am one of them, and Sifu is the other.

So last summer I decided it was time to get back into wing chun. I also realized it was time to try and get serious about getting fit again. There is a fitness room in my building at work, and I was going down there for a while. However, I have only a half hour lunch and I have NO time to go to the fitness room at the end of my shift; I need to get home. The result: on my lunch break, I wound up spending just as much time getting ready to work out as I did working out! Something had to be done, but I didn’t know what. I couldn’t afford a gym membership. Even if I found a place cheap enough, there was NO WAY IN HELL I could afford to pay a personal trainer on top of that.

That’s when I decided to post an ad on Craigslist that I was seeking fitness help. In the ad I briefly described my hectic lifestyle AND lack of money. I said something like, “I know personal trainers cost a lot. I cannot compensate much, but I will do the best I can to get the help I need.” To my surprise, I got a reply.

More to come in part 2…

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, life, observation, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.