My Fitness Experience-Part 2

I got a reply to my Craigslist ad from a guy who said he could help me out, free of charge. (I found that odd, but then again I didn’t think it would hurt to just give him a call.) It turned out the guy was a Beachbody coach. He heard my story over the phone and said, “With your limited time, it sounds like you would be a good match for 10 Minute Trainer.” He came to my house and showed me the Cardio and Yoga Flex workouts. I was immediately hooked. However, I didn’t have the money to buy right away. He said that was fine. At the end of his presentation he also threw in the part about coaching and running a business. Having failed to make any kind of income with Primerica or Ambit, I was hesitant about this. However, I kept in the back of my mind for two reasons: (1) the product would be easy for people to understand because everyone and their mother wants to be fit these days, and (2) I knew it was something I could be passionate about. A couple weeks later, when this guy emailed me and said the coach sign-up fee was waived until the end of the year, I decided to go ahead and take the plunge. I signed up as a coach and then bought the basic DVD set of 10 Minute Trainer. This was late August 2010.

I didn’t get to explore the website too much at first, so I was unaware there was an autoschedule I could load up. I just came home and did whatever workout I felt like doing that night. For a while things were really hit or miss. Then in late October I finally said, “This is nuts…I need to explore this site a little more.” That was when I found the autoschedule. At first I decided to do just one workout per day. Since it was close to November 1, I decided to set my first program directly on the first day of the month. Once that day came, there was never any looking back. I never once lost interest.

You can’t say the same for my coach. His accountability (which had seemed so high at first) immediately went down the toilet. I started looking on Facebook for other coaches in my area, and that was when I came across Shu. It turned out he lived only about fifteen minutes from me. I told him about my coach’s lack of reply and how I had done nothing with the business because I wasn’t being given any guidance. He said I could try switching to him. As fate would have it, I was able to. Whereas I had already committed to the workout side of Team Beachbody, the day I switched to Shu was when I REALLY became a coach. The first day after Shu became my sponsor, he and I communicated more than I had with that other guy over the course of two months. Somehow I knew if I stuck with it while I had this guy’s help, things would start to happen.

Watch for part 3…

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, fitness, team beachbody. Bookmark the permalink.