My Fitness Experience-Part 3

The month of November went by, and on the morning after my program ended I woke up and immediately took my “after” pictures. I didn’t see any immediate, glamorous change, but I DID see spots where some flab had melted away. I said to myself, “Well, it was only ten minutes a day, and I do have quite a bit to lose. Not only that, but there were some days when I went off my diet. Let’s give it another try.” And I did, only this time I was going into battle armed with the 10 Minute Trainer Deluxe Upgrade. This consisted of one more DVD that had three other workouts on it. On top of that, my purchase also came with two One on One discs, and each one had three workouts on them as well…so we’re talking NINE EXTRA WORKOUTS IN DECEMBER!!!

At first I tried doing twenty minutes per day. When that didn’t work up enough of a sweat, I raised it up to thirty. That really got the flood going. Then on certain days I even went up to FORTY minutes because I loved Tony’s Friday Night Arms routine. (As many of you know, I am a devoted wing chun man. Since most of our techniques involve our hands and upper body, I really wanted to hit those arms…especially the forearms, and Friday Night Arms is the only workout I have seen so far that addresses those poor neglected muscles.) Toward the beginning of the month, I had already decided my next step would be P90X, so I placed the order. It arrived when I had about a week left of my program. I can’t even begin to tell you how slowly time passed at that point!

On the business side of things, Shu and I were also trying to set up a fit club. I had mornings off, so what I did was make up a list of churches and community centers in our area. I had about ten pages of phone numbers that I called. Less than 5% of them even got back to me, and we never wound up getting a place where we could hold it.

Finally, I reached the end of my second round of 10 Minute Trainer. I can remember waking up the morning after my last day, going into the bathroom first thing to take those “After” pictures, and being absolutely blown away when I looked in the mirror. Now there were indeed noticeable changes in my upper body. It took every bit of willpower I had not to run back into my bedroom and wake up my wife to have her look at me!

There is still a good portion of my story ahead, but I just wanted to tell an anecdote here: I remember looking at Tony during the Cardio routine and thinking, “I wish I could meet this man and tell him how much his workouts have changed my life.” Then I thought about it: can you imagine how many times he has already heard that? I mean, if a thousand people tell you that you changed their lives, then what is special about one thousand and one? I can almost imagine the conversation.

ME: Tony, you really changed my life.
TONY: Really? Gee, wow, I never heard that before. *yawn*

However, after months of watching this man in the 10 Minute Trainer and P90X videos, I have come to a conclusion: I don’t think hearing that EVER GETS OLD TO HIM. He makes these workouts because he is in love with fitness, and he wants his love for it to spill over into us so we can be healthy too. You’re a good man, Tony Horton, and I hope to meet you someday!

Part 4 on its way soon…

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, fitness, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.