My Fitness Experience-Part 4

After going through a month of 10 Minute Trainer where I was doing 30-40 minutes per day, I knew I was ready for the hour-long P90X workouts. Ages ago I would make excuses, although I admit it is still kind of rough to do a P90X workout after working twelve hours…especially when I have to do it all over again the next day! However, without even noticing it, my mentality had changed. Now my line of thinking is: if I want it, then I will find a way to do it.

First day of P90X was January 2, 2011. Chest and Back showed me how out of shape I was. For the standard push-up I could do only 25. When it came to pull-ups, I couldn’t do ANY without a chair for assistance. Plyo was on day 2. Although lots of people had talked about how hard it was, I actually liked it a lot. The only move that became my real enemy was Jump Knee Tucks but, over time, that became my favorite exercise BECAUSE of how hard it was.

Day 4: Yoga X. I absolutely hated how many times you have to go through plank, chatarunga, upward dog, and downward dog. The repetition drove me nuts. For a while I switched to Fountain of Youth. Then I started doing 10 Minute Trainer Yoga Flex. I would do a wing chun form, followed by Yoga Flex. Since I know four wing chun forms, that means I was running through Yoga flex four times. After a while even THAT got boring to me, so I went back to Fountain of Youth. For my last day of the program I decided to do Yoga X in its entirety again, and I was amazed at how much my opinion of it had changed. Not only that, but I also noticed the benefits I got from it when I did one of my wing chun forms and discovered my balance had greatly improved. When I do another round of P90X, I don’t plan on skipping Yoga X ever again.

About halfway through P90X I noticed there were still some problem areas going on for me: my forearms weren’t as strong as I liked, plus there was still some flab on my gut and chest. I created my own “10 Minute Trainer” workout that I call “Forearms Club” to address the first issue. As for the other two, my next move is to buy Insanity. I’m pretty sure that will burn off more (if not all) of the remaining flab.

During this time I was still working the business side of things. Despite my limited time, I was able to achieve emerald status in about four months. This was amazing to me because it was further than I had ever gotten when working with an MLM company. It proved to me that my original assessment was right: it would be a lot easier to forge ahead with this business because it was something people could understand AND that I was passionate about. Now that I see the results (both from the workouts and the supplements), I also really believe in what I’m promoting.

Everyone who has become a Beachbody coach knows they always tell you one thing right off the bat: you need to figure out your “why.” I have so many of them it’s hard to say which one really is my primary motivator to succeed. (1) The confidence that has come from my experience is unbelievable. I’ve had things happen to me in the past six months that have come as a surprise even to me. I’m speaking of occasions where people have tried to bully me, and I stood my ground against them. When the bully walked away, I was saying to myself, “Did I really just stand up to them?” This leads into my second “why.” (2) I’ve been able to address bullying in my person life, but the bullying in my PROFESSIONAL life remains. It always will…until my living comes strictly from Beachbody. I want to be the kind of leader who is the exact opposite of all the crummy supervisors I’ve had in my life…the people who go apeshit just because they have some level of power and abuse it. (3) I want to have more time to devote to the four most important things in my life: my family, fitness, writing, and wing chun.

Well, I think that pretty much sums up my Beachbody experience so far. Laying all this out for people to read seemed like the most appropriate way to wrap up round one. Things keep growing every day, and I look forward to a bright, long future as a proud Beachbody coach.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, confidence, fitness, P90X, team beachbody, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.