Updates, for those who care

I have only subscriber to my blog, so I don’t even know if anyone CARES why I haven’t been writing, but I felt like putting some updates on the site.

First of all, I had plans to do Turbo Jam until I could afford to buy Insanity. Well, those plans fell through when (1) TJ bored the crap out of me and (2) I caught a stomach bug and couldn’t do the program even though a friend let me borrow it until I could afford my own copy. Hopefully by Sunday I will be steady enough on my feet again to jump into the fray.

Second update: with the constant cancellation of overtime at work, I have had to discontinue two wing chun-related things: (1) I have been unable to keep buying the parts for the wooden dummy, and (2) I have had to stop going to class. Even though it was only once every two weeks, I am in such a bad financial state right now that I HAVE to save every penny I can. Feeding my kids, clothing my kids, and keeping a roof over their heads is more important than my wing chun training. Still, I practice my forms every day (at least the first two, if not all four), and I have recently taken up the practice of shadow boxing…just imagining I’m being attacked and letting my hands flow freely. The key to being able to fight with wing chun (or any martial art for that matter) is to lose the sense of self-consciousness. You need to get to a point where you no longer say, “What do I do next?” The moment you start thinking is the moment you’re dead.

Third: I have been cranking away at the zombie comic, despite the minimal response I have had from the guy who is supposed to be drawing it. Right now I am on part three, and I have 504 (handwritten) pages. Yes, you read that right! And the crazy part is: if you look at the outline I wrote for part three, you would see I am only about halfway through all the plot points I wanted to include in this section. It is going to be a frickin’ MONSTER, to say the least.

At any rate, those are my updates. Enjoy them for what they are worth.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, insanity, life, team beachbody, wing chun, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.