Insanity:Day 1 (Rest Day aka Fit Test)

Guess what, people? I’M BACK…although who knows for how long? LOL Whereas Turbo Jam was so easy that it bored me to tears, Insanity is so hard that I nearly threw up…and it was only the first fit test! I was even starting to feel a little fatigue set in when I was just doing the damn warm-up. I thought this wouldn’t be too big of a challenge since I made it through P90X, but DAMN was I wrong. Don’t misinterpret what I say here: even after P90X, I knew there would be a point when I would have to take a break…I just thought it might take me longer than the average newbie!

At any rate, here are the results for my first fit test. I was shocked by some, disappointed by others. When I got such a high rep count on the switch kicks, I thought, “Man, this program will be a cinch!” Then, as the fit test progressed, my reps gradually went down. Power jumps were the WORST; that was the point where I seriously felt like I might puke!

Switch Kicks: 90
Power Jacks: 50
Power Knees: 75
Power Jumps: 25
Globe Jumps: 6 (each move was 4 jumps total, so it was actually 24 jumps)
Suicide Jumps: 10
Push-Up Jacks: 25
Low Plank Obliques: 50

The most shocking result to me was the low plank obliques. By that point I was so worn out that I doubted I would even be able to do 30. Also of note: the number of reps I did for push-up jacks was the same number I hit for standard push-ups when I started P90X back in January.

All in all, this is one badass program, and I can tell you already it’s the real deal. My plan was to do an Insanity workout and then do my 10 Minute Trainer Forearms Club every other day, but as of right now I don’t know that I’d be able to accomplish that! We’ll see. Maybe I still can if one Insanity workout feels “easier” to me than another. (I use that word “easier” very hesitantly because I doubt any of them ever let up!)

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, confidence, fitness, forearms, insanity, P90X, team beachbody, turbo jam. Bookmark the permalink.