Insanity: Day 5 (Pure Cardio)

If no other night did it, this is the night that made Insanity earn its name. After the warm-up there was only one 30-second water break! I’m sure those of you who have already done the program knew that, but it was a shock to me. Even MORE shocking was the fact that I could keep up with the workout easier when Shaun T INCREASED the speed. In the beginning when they are going more “moderate,” I found it harder to keep the pace with them. Maybe that’s because when we went faster, I didn’t have the time to think about how much pain I was in! At any rate, I think I am finally starting to get into the groove with this workout. The last four days, I was unsure if I’d be able to do it. That’s what I get for going from P90X to Turbo Jam. Well, now that I have both P90X AND Insanity, I’m never dropping down to a routine that is less strenuous.

Some good news on the writing front today: a magazine called Nocturnal Lyric will be publishing my short story “Sounds of Horror” in their November issue! On top of that I am still plugging away at the zombie epic. I am currently writing part 3 (out of a planned 5), and it is proving to be just as much of a monster as the zombies that are in it. After one more day of writing, I am going to crack page 600!!! Yes, you read that right! Not only that, but I am only about 70% done with the plot points that I planned to include in this section. I wouldn’t be surprised if it goes over 800 pages…or maybe even nears 1,000! We’ll see.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, insanity, team beachbody, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.