Fighting “Dirty”

Someone was talking about fighting “dirty” at wing chun class last night, and it made me think of something I wanted to post here for a while. It is just my opinion on the topic.

Personally, I don’t believe there IS such a thing as fighting “dirty.” Usually, someone is labelled a dirty fighter by the person whose ass they kicked. Give you an example: I saw two guys get into a fight outside a bar. They were both just throwing punches for a while. Then one of them switched strategies and threw a kick, hitting his opponent square in the groin. As he groveled on his knees, the loser accused the winner of being a “dirty fighter” because he threw a kick. (He even started saying humorous things like, “What the hell…this guy thinks he’s playing f***ing soccer or something.”) This is a prime example of what I’m talking about: if you pull some weird, out of the ordinary move on someone and you WIN, they’ll say you fought “dirty.”

Well, let me ask you this: I’m only 5’7″ tall and I weigh 190 lbs. Let’s say I go out to a bar and for some reason some ogre standing 6’8″ tall and weighing 250 decides he wants to pummel me. What the hell could be “dirtier” than that, coming at me when you’re a foot taller and sixty pounds heavier?

There is no such thing as “fair” or “unfair” when it comes to self-defense. Yes, if I saw a fight where one dude was standing at a bar and then another guy spun him around and punched him, you COULD say that was “unfair.” But in self-defense situations, these terms don’t apply. If you want a fair fight, enter a goddamn boxing ring. Otherwise if you come at me on the street, expect me to do whatever the hell I have to in order to be the one walking away.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fighting, life, observation, wing chun. Bookmark the permalink.