Insanity: Day 20 (Plyometric Cardio Circuit)

Now I have indisputable proof that my body really is changing thanks to Insanity. How do I know? Because tonight during the cool down stretch, when I leaned down to do the hamstring stretch, I couldn’t believe how LITTLE fat there was bunching up on my stomach! My wife has said to me during these last few months that I was getting slimmer, but I thought, “Ah, she’s just saying that because she loves me to death and wants to pump up my confidence.” But that wasn’t it! I’m REALLY getting fit…hot damn!

It’s a funny thing how getting in better shape can boost your confidence too. In my case it isn’t a matter of thinking, “I can be more confident now because someone looked at me and thought I was hot.” No! I’m a very goal-oriented person. If I set a goal for myself and don’t reach it, I can get EXTREMELY bummed out. So this confidence stems from the fact that in the summer of 2010 I got sick of having a huge beer gut (despite the fact that I hardly ever drink beer)…I reached out to find a solution…I found one…and I stuck with it. Hell, I’m STILL sticking with it! Even some of my wing chun classmates were shocked last night because we were doing this drill where we practiced how to enter on someone who knew ground fighting, and while everyone else was sitting down gasping for breath, I was standing there ready to go! They asked me, “What have you been doing?” I said, “Insanity.” At the end of the night, when he noticed I hardly ever had to stop for a breather, one of my classmates said, “Yeah, I think I’m going to start doing Insanity!” That made me feel really good, especially since those people are like another family to me.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, insanity, team beachbody. Bookmark the permalink.