Life “After” Insanity (the workout program, not the mental condition)

I put “after” in quotes because I still have to go through my fit test today…plus recovery week…then rest week. The other day I started thinking about what to do next because I ordered another Beachbody program called RevAbs. I made this purchase because the program has an unrealistically reasonable price, and it is 90 days just like P90X. Only difference: every move you do is meant to help strengthen your abs. Even though my original goal with Beachbody was to reach a point in time where I did the almighty P90X/Insanity hybrid, I wanted to give RevAbs a spin in there somewhere.

So I started thinking: I really want to do the P90X/Insanity hybrid, but I also want to give RevAbs a try. What to do? I could already see into the future: all while I was doing P90X Back and Biceps, I’d be staring at RevAbs sitting on the shelf, wondering what it was like. You see, in a way there is a THIRD reason why I got the program: a lot of the people on my team have never tried it but are curious to, so I figured I could give them a review. If it is a crappy program, then they could go by my report on it and avoid wasting their money. (However, in my case it wouldn’t be a waste even if I hated it because my purchase helped that other coach out.)

I started thinking about doing the RevAbs program, but that would mean another 90 days without any weightlifting in my workout routine. Think about this: I just did 62 days of Insanity. Today is day 63. Then there are two more weeks of recovery and rest; now we’re up to 77 days. I had a rest week after P90X; 84 days!!! There was no weightlifting during the last week of the X; 91 days!!! And let’s not forget the couple weeks of my aborted attempt at going through Turbo Jam. Long story short, I think it has been over 100 days since my workouts have included any kind of weightlifting. If I did JUST RevAbs, then that number would climb up to (or over) 200.

That was when the answer came to me: look online to see if anyone had a P90X/RevAbs hybrid schedule! (As I read that, the solution seems so easy that I can’t believe it didn’t occur to me sooner!) Granted this won’t let me experience the full impact of the RevAbs routine (because even though it includes the workouts on every DVD, they will be spread out), but I will at least be able to give my team an idea what the workouts are like and if it is worth buying. Then, when I am done with the hybrid, I can do RevAbs alone to report on the results you get when doing it the intended way.

Another concern I had involved the upcoming P90X 2. It is only a 5-day program (as opposed to the original’s 6-day schedule). Why? Because it is THAT intense…you need two rest days! One of the people on my team said, “Be careful in recommending that your customers pre-order P90X 2. Tony Horton said even he has a hard time getting through it, so it really shouldn’t be done unless you have a couple rounds of P90X under your belt.”

Don’t ask me why, but for some reason the number “four” stuck in my mind. To reach that goal, I need three more rounds of the X. So I went ahead and created a workout routine for myself that will last me a long, long time. (However, I am still going to pre-order P90X 2 when it’s available because they are predicting it will be on back order FOREVER if you don’t do the pre-order option!) This is my ideal schedule for the next year or so:

*P90X/RevAbs hybrid: This will give me round 2 of P90X, plus an impression of the RevAbs routines to report to my team mates. 90 days.

*RevAbs solo: Now I can tell them about the impact of this program when done all at once! 90 days.

*P90X/Insanity hybrid: The traditional hybrid that most people follow. Round 3 of P90X. 90 days.

*P90X/Asylum hybrid: The newest hybrid people are doing, which swaps out the original Insanity for its sequel. And not to mention this would be round FOUR of the X, people! Yet another 90 days.

*OPTIONAL: I could also do Asylum on its own after all this. And why not? It’s only a 30 day program. Easy enough to sneak in before I try P90X 2.

So if you figure 90 days is about three months, and I’ve got four 90-day rounds up there, this will hold me for a little over a year (especially when you factor in rest weeks).

Man, I think about how I was so anti-jock and anti-sport back when I was in high school. Now I am obsessed over this stuff! I realize now that the only reason I was anti-sport during my teen years was because of the treatment I got from my gym teacher in grade school, the most impressionable years of my life. (This isn’t just an overreaction to his behavior either. A LOT of parents complained about the guy because this was a pattern of his: treat the kids that were more athletically inclined like angels while shitting all over the kids who weren’t. If I could say one thing to that man now, it would be, “Hey, man, no hard feelings…I turned out all right DESPITE the way you and every other asshole at that school treated me.”)

It’s hard to say if I would have wound up being anti-sport if I hadn’t grown up the way I did, simply because those years are long gone and THAT was the experience I had. It isn’t like I can hit the “reset” button to go back and see if a better teacher would have given me a better feeling about sports. (Even if I could, I wouldn’t want to. What if I wound up with a teacher like that again? Who the hell would want to go through that TWICE?) My opinion of sports is what kept me from getting into fitness for so long, but you know what? I am not ashamed of the person I DID become. I was thought of as a freak for being into poetry and “expressing my feelings” instead of sports, but I think I turned out all right. At the time, I thought getting into sports would be conforming to what everyone else thought was “normal” or “cool.” Now I know better, and I realize I can be still be who I already am (the flipped out artsy weirdo) while also being a fitness nut. I’m not compromising who I am…I’m simply ADDING another piece to the puzzle that is me. Not only that, but being super dedicated to working out is just a natural extension of my interest in martial arts. I never thought of getting into wing chun as sacrificing who I was, so why should I think that when it comes to lifting weights and doing intense cardio routines? It’s not sacrificing who I am AT ALL. I just wish I’d realized that long ago. Still, late bloomer or not, I’m glad that epiphany finally came.

And in closing, there is one thing I want to swear to you now: I will be the most anti-jock jock this world has ever seen! By saying that, do I mean I will hate jocks? No, I simply mean I won’t be what people think of when they hear the word “jock.” I’ll STILL be the artsy freak weirdo that I was…just a more RIPPED version!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in confidence, fitness, insanity, life, observation, P90X, rev abs, team beachbody, turbo jam, wing chun, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.