Rev Abs: Day 37 (Fire Up Your Abs)

I was feeling so drowsy toward the end of my shift at work, but for some reason my adrenaline kicked in once I got that DVD going. Tonight I worked up the biggest sweat EVER for this particular routine. It’s about time!

On the writing front, I had to take a few days off from writing the story proper in order to review the notes I took on APOCALYPSE NOW and see how I could transpose episodes from that movie to my zombie story. It took me a few days but, as always, once I buckled down and focused it didn’t take as long as I thought. At first all I was doing was taking the APOCALYPSE scenarios and putting them in a zombie setting. It felt too much like plagiarism to me, so I kept on hammering at it. There are still some parts that are more or less directly borrowed from Coppola’s film, but I consider them “homages” instead of “rip-offs” now. (The difference is subtle…so subtle, in fact, that I can’t even describe it.)

There is only one part of the story I don’t have an answer for yet: how do the team mates convince Adam to rejoin them so they can use his blood to eradicate the zombie virus? I mean, here he is camped out in a city he has all to himself, where people treat him like a god. What motivation would he have to leave and rough it on the road again?

However, the good news is that I don’t have to answer this question for a while. In the meantime, I can resume cranking out my 15 pages per day!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, apocalypse now, apocalypse now redux, brett hoebel, california, cardio, circuit training, cobra, colonel kurtz, confidence, dumbbell jack knife, fire up your abs, fitness, francis ford coppola, inspiration, marlon brando, martin sheen, obliques, plank, rev abs, side plank, striders, team beachbody, vietnam, web comic, weightlifting, Writing, zombies. Bookmark the permalink.