Rev Abs: Day 63 (Power Intervals 2)

I’ve got to admit: today I conducted a bit of an experiment at my fit club class. Lately it seems like I’ve been dialling in more workouts than I care to admit, so I tried THIS workout at fit club to see how it turned out when I was around other people instead of alone. And you know something? I pushed harder than I have in a long, LONG time. In fact I got so winded at the end of each round that I didn’t always finish! The lesson learned from this: I can push myself harder when there are other people around me that are pursuing the same goal. It’s like I feed off their energy, or absorb it into me. After tonight I wish now more than ever that I had more people around me who had the same drive/ambition/whatever you want to call it. It’s kind of like Bono sings in that U2 song that I never heard, “Sometimes you can’t make it on your own.” I mean, I still do the workouts whether I am alone or not (which I ma 99% of the time), but it’d rock if all I had to do was pick up the phone and say to someone on the other end, “Hey, I don’t feel like working out alone tonight…get over here!” Ah well…maybe if I keep on pushing through, someone will feed off MY energy and ambition, and before you know it I really won’t be doing these alone anymore.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, brett hoebel, cardio, circuit training, fitness, free fit club, interval training, lunge chops, overhead press, power intervals 2, rev abs, side squat, speed skaters, sprawls, strength training, team beachbody. Bookmark the permalink.