Writing (Another Off-Topic Post)

I just felt like writing an update about how the zombie comic is going. By now I think it’s safe to say that my would-be artist and co-creator has dropped out of the picture for some unknown reason. He hasn’t written back to me in about two months, even though there HAS been activity on his Facebook page (like a changed profile picture and other things that show he HAS been logging in, which means he HAS seen my messages).

I finished part 4 a couple weeks ago, and there was a bit of an anomaly this time. Normally after I finish one part (which is written out by hand first), I will type it up before I start the next. However, I am without a laptop at the moment. In other words the only place I can do my typing is from home. Part 4 is 890 handwritten pages and, if the only place I can type is from home, then I will probably be able to manage typing up only ten pages per day. (After all, there IS this little thing called “family time” that I like to participate in.) That means it could take me 89 days to type up part 4. Add all these factors up, and it should be no surprise that I leapt right back into the story; I started writing part 5 on October 1.

I must say the writing for this section has gone…strange. I feel like I haven’t written much, yet I have been consistently cranking out 15 pages a day. My outline for the story has ten “bullets” or “plot points” that this particular section of the comic has to cover, and I am already on part 4 (about to wrap it up, actually). My scene descriptions have gotten much shorter, and I can’t decide if that’s because I’m simply trying to leave room for an artist to interpret the scene in their own way, or because I am just getting lazy. Hard to say.

There IS one thing I am sure of: I want this comic to hit AT LEAST 2,000 “comic book” pages. (Believe me: there is a difference between comic book pages and script pages. For example, part 3 has 715 script pages, but it is only 647 comic book pages.) Right now the “comic book page” total is 1,613. That means part 5 has to be 387. As I said above, I am already on bullet four out of ten…and this part has only JUST reached page 100. Either I will have to add more detail into what was already written when I type it up, or I will have to think of more details for the sections that have yet to be written. (I think I may lean toward the latter, as there isn’t too much expansion I can do with what I already wrote.)

Well, whatever the case, I need to find several people to help avoid this turning into a colossal waste of my time. First of all I need an artist. Second, I need someone good at web design (after all, the goal is still to make this a web comic). Last but not least, I need someone good at advertising/marketing…because how else are we going to get invited to Comic Con or Fangoria’s Weekend of Horrors unless we know how to get the good old word-of-mouth wheel turning?

First things first though: I need to find an artist. But when to start looking? Right away? No, I think my best bet would be to wait until parts 4 and 5 are all typed up, edited, and revised. Then I can focus SOLELY on the artist search…as well as other writing projects I had in mind.

It isn’t going to be an easy search, but the payoff will make it worth it. And who knows? Maybe I will find someone who encompasses all three of the things I need above. All I need is for them to have more ambition than Clarence, which is a fairly easy feat to pull off. They could prove they have more drive than him even if they wrote an email that was only two sentences long.

Even if this story winds up gathering dust, it has still been an interesting experience writing it. I came up with vague outlines for each section to follow, listing plot points that each part had to hit in order for the story to make sense and progress naturally. It’s amazing how a story can take on a mind of its own, becoming almost self-aware like a computer, and lead you in directions you never thought of when you composed those skeletal structures. (That’s why some writers believe outlines are useless, but for my cluttered and constantly fidgeting brain, I NEED that laundry list to keep from going off the rails completely.) The story hasn’t always gone the way I originally predicted it would, but I ENJOY the directions it has gone off in.

And just think: it was about this time last year that I posted on Facebook how I loved THE WALKING DEAD and wanted to write my own zombie story but, with so many having been done already, I didn’t know what to do to make mine original. Now here we are almost a year later, and I’m closing in on the finish line.

For those of you who have heard me gabbing about this project since the beginning, I hope you feel it was worth the wait (and listening to all my rambling) by the time it comes out.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in Final draft, inspiration, life, movies, observation, off-topic, random, rant, the walking dead, web comic, Writing, zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

