P90X/Insanity Hybrid: Day 13 (Cardio Power and Resistance)

Today’s lesson: sometimes you just have to be patient and not rush things.

Why do I say that? Well, given that I don’t get home until 8:45pm, I have always been of the mindset that I HAVE to get my workout done the second I get home. That way it is over with and I can spend time with the wife, right?

Well, sometimes other factors won’t let you do that. For example, tonight the little boy is STILL AWAKE even as I type this. Given that I can’t lay there and cuddle with Diana, she said, “Just go do your workout.” So I did.

Let me tell you: I went to work for only a half day today, but for some reason I came home feeling more exhausted than when I used to work tons of overtime. (Weird how a short work day will do that to you, huh?) So when I came home, I just got in bed with her, hoping the energy would eventually come. By the time she told me to work out, I still hadn’t caught my second wind yet. Still, it wasn’t like I could just lay there peacefully with her, so I pressed play anyway.

And wouldn’t you know it? I was able to push harder and go longer tonight than I have in WEEKS. It’s funny how that works. Maybe I should convince myself every day that I will put in a crappy workout when I get home, and then I will ALWAYS wind up doing better. LOL

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, cardio, cardio intervals, cardio power and resistance, circuit training, fitness, hybrids, insanity, interval, interval training, P90X, shaun t, team beachbody, tony horton, workout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

