Artist Search

Well, every artist I was talking to has either failed to reply, said they weren’t really that interested in the story, or declared they were too busy to draw the zombie comic for me. So I decided to take my search to the one place where I knew I could advertise for free: Craigslist. Big mistake.

I posted my ad in the “gigs: creative” category, admitting that there would be no pay AT FIRST but that, over time, as word of mouth spread and we got a bigger fan base, we COULD make money off this thing. Basically I was looking for people who draw for the love of drawing, not because they get paid…just like I’m not getting paid to write the thing.

Well, apparently this “no pay” part was very offensive to someone because the ad was flagged down about 12 hours later. I went on the “CL Help” forum to ask why it got flagged. The primary bone of contention? That I said there was no pay. Okay…so let me get this straight: I’m not getting paid to write it, but I should pay someone to draw it? Then if the comic makes money, they get paid AGAIN? What sense does that make? To me an ad that says “looking for an artist to draw what I wrote” is no different than when one musician posts an ad looking for other musicians, or when I see ads that have subject lines like, “Small indie film needs actors” and it turns out the actors will NOT be paid.

Let me put it this way: I sit in my house or at my job or wherever I am, day after day, writing…not because I am getting paid, but because I LOVE it. (Would I like to get paid enough to make a living at it? Yes, but let’s stick with one point for now.) And while I’m doing that, there is someone out there who is drawing day after day because THEY love to draw. So if both people (me and this hypothetical artist) are engaging in our forms of artistic expression for free SEPARATELY, why should it mean I have to pay them just because I asked to COMBINE our talents?

And not for nothing, but as I said above, I’m not getting paid to write it…so how am I supposed to pay them to draw it? God help us all…is there anyone out there besides me who does something for the LOVE of it…regardless of pay?

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in life, observation, off-topic, random, rant, web comic, Writing, zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Artist Search

  1. Pingback: Artist at Heart « Happily Ever After 7.10.11

Leave a Reply

