P90X/Insanity Hybrid: Day 34 (Cardio Power and Resistance)

I felt like trying something REALLY insane tonight, so I skipped the thirty second water breaks in this workout. Man, I think I might regret it tomorrow! To be fair, it probably doesn’t mean as much because I did my wing chun forms instead of following the video’s warm-up routine. However, I DID follow Shaun and the gang during the stretch.

As I was doing my forms (and later on when I was doing Insanity), I started dwelling on the changes both have had on my life. For example, after doing a month of Insanity, I went to my wing chun class and I was able to outlast all my classmates; they all got winded WAY before I did during our drills. Then with wing chun, I’ve always been worried as to whether I could really handle myself on the street…thinking, “What if someone throws a hook punch but my goofy reflexes respond as if they did an uppercut? They might knock me on my ass with one punch!” But then my brother-in-law came at me a few months ago (semi-goofing around, semi-serious), and it was like he was coming at me in slow motion! I mean, my reflexes were THERE!

Then it dawned on me: it may seem impressive that I outlasted my classmates…it may seem impressive that I DID counter against someone…but you know what? That’s because even the tiniest amount of training you can do is WAY MORE THAN ANYONE ELSE DOES!!! In other words, my stamina wouldn’t be as impressive if I were matched up with Shaun T. And there is no way in hell my wing chun skills add up to jack squat if I spar with my Sifu.

The point I’m getting at here is it’s always good to remain humble, and to remember that you can always improve. Sifu may be able to throw me around the room now, but I want to reach a point where I give him a run for his money…and then some! So yes, I should be glad I can handle myself on the street, but I should also remember that doesn’t make me King of All Wing Chun. Same goes for working out.

The bottom line: DON’T EVER THINK YOU HAVE NO MORE ROOM TO IMPROVE. That’s when it comes to anything: physical fitness…mental fitness…the way you show your love and devotion to your spouse…your outlook on life…the way you treat others. Don’t ever become complacent with ANYTHING.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in cardio, cardio intervals, cardio power and resistance, fitness, hybrids, insanity, interval, interval training, P90X, shaun t, team beachbody, tony horton, workout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

