The “Beachbody vs. the Gym” Debate

This blog is not meant to sway anyone’s opinion. If you like going to the gym, then go. I’ve merely been asked this question too many times by family, friends and acquaintances to let it go any longer. Now I want to set my opinion on the matter down in a clear, concise manner.

A lot of people mock programs like the ones put out by Beachbody. They refer to P90X and Insanity as the latest “fad workouts.” Another common insult is to call Tony Horton and Shaun T “fitness gurus for the stars,” the implication being that these workouts will get you fit only if you are a millionaire movie star who has the time to stay in shape. The other remark tethered to this one is, “Why should I pay some fitness guru $120 to learn how to get in shape when I could go to the gym and come up with a workout program myself?” Last but not least, when all other criticisms fail, people go for the easiest target: the price. (Before shipping and tax, P90X comes to about $120. Most programs cost less than that.)

So I catch grief sometimes because I do Beachbody workouts. Normally I let these remarks roll right off, but today I felt kinda bored so I wanted to write this blog and explain why I choose Beachbody over the gym.

1) These programs DO get results.
*As long as you are consistent with them and eat right, you will see results with ALL these programs. The only time you wouldn’t is if you went from a harder program to an easier one. For example, after my first round of P90X, I tried out Turbo Jam with my wife. I never even broke a sweat because I’d already done a tougher routine.

2) They only APPEAR to be more expensive than the gym.
*P90X costs $120 up front. If you join a gym that costs $30 a month, then you have exceeded that cost in only a few months. Then you have to factor in the money you spend on the extra gas to get there.

3) Convenience was another big factor for me.
*I don’t have the time to go all the way to a gym, work out, and then go all the way home. This way, my home and gym are one. Going back to the cost of the gym, some people brag about how they joined a gym that is only $10 per month. Well, yeah…but if you never go, it is STILL a waste of money. And some nights you may or may not go to the gym, but you always go home. (At least, most people do!) Another great thing with Beachbody workouts: if I want to go home and spend some time with my wife before exercising, I can because she is right there!

4) I like the fact that a program that gives me results has already been developed for me.
*As I said above, one of the arguments I’ve heard is that people don’t want to pay “fitness gurus” for a program when they can go to the gym and create one themselves. But here’s the thing: most people do NOT know how to create an effective program on their own. Therefore they wind up creating one that is boring and has their results hitting a plateau in a month, so they quit. Another thing: people complain about how they don’t “have the time” to do the hour-long P90X workouts. Well, if they don’t have time for that, then they DEFINITELY don’t have the hours to put in to researching and developing their own effective workout. So what’s the alternative to that? Hire a personal trainer, which means spending even MORE money than you already do on your gym fees and the extra gas to make it to and from the facility.

5) You don’t need to be a millionaire who is free most of the day to get fit.
*P90X (and most Beachbody workouts) are an hour long. The only exception to this is Yoga X, which is an hour and a half. That is too long for me personally, but I found ways around it. If you want something bad enough, there is always a way to get around whatever obstacle is in the way of your goal. There’s the real difference between people who SAY they want to get fit, and those who actually do: they don’t use the “I don’t have an hour” excuse.

At any rate, I didn’t intend this to be a Beachbody commercial. It probably comes off that way, but oh well. I just wanted to do something different with this blog other than just report on my daily workout routines.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in fitness, insanity, observation, P90X, random, rant, shaun t, team beachbody, tony horton, workout, yoga x. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The “Beachbody vs. the Gym” Debate

  1. Pingback: First workout at L.A. Fitness « The Nightly Silence

  2. I go the Beachbody route also, granted it has only been for around 50 days but I am seeing results more than I did when I went to the gym. My issue with the gym was having to go clear across town to attend. So it took twice as much time. 40 minutes in the car for an hour visit. it was annoying so I just stopped going. I found out that Bodypump was available from home so the gym membership was cancelled and I bought it. I am so glad i made that choice.

Leave a Reply

