P90X/Rev Abs Hybrid: Day 2 (Fire Up Your Abs)

I love how the Rev Abs workouts are all less than an hour long. It couldn’t have fallen on a better day either because my head was pounding when I got home from work, and I was so glad I didn’t have to do Plyometrics!

When I first bought and did this program last year, I wasn’t a big fan of it because, while it consists of three rounds, every round has the same exercises. Originally this struck me as rather boring, but tonight I thought that was the best thing Brett could have done with the routine.

So why did I have such a change of heart? I think it relates back to something I wrote about X Stretch during the final week of my previous hybrid. In X Stretch, every move is only a minute long (or less), which makes that hour-long workout seem to drag on FOREVER. That is a bad thing because, when something takes too long, I immediately kick into that “oh dear God this is never going to end” mentality. When time crawls like that, I actually start to feel tired. Therefore I was glad for the Fire Up Your Abs routine tonight, which consists of only a few moves: Plank, Cobra, Dumbbell Jack Knife, Side Plank, and Striders.

So what is the lesson we can learn here? Tony Horton always says, “Variety is the spice of life.” He also says the number one enemy to fitness is boredom, which is caused by a repetitious workout regimen. Well, in this case, the lack of variety in the moves was actually a GOOD thing. It made me feel like the workout was only 20 minutes instead of 40.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, brett hoebel, cobra, exercise, fire up your abs, fitness, hybrids, P90X, plank, rev abs, side plank, striders, team beachbody, tony horton, workout, x stretch. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

