P90X/Rev Abs Hybrid: Day 59 (Shoulders and Arms-Ab Ripper X)

In an effort to maintain accountability, I am going to admit that I skipped Ab Ripper X tonight. Why? Because I got around to Shoulders and Arms so late. Yes, I know ARX would have added only an extra 16 minutes to my workout, but I know I would have had my mind on other things the entire time. Better to just skip it.

HOWEVER, that letdown is supplemented by the fact that this was a night full of surprises. What would they be? NEW WEIGHTS USED for several exercises. These would include:

*35-lb. dumbbells used for overhead shoulder press
*30-lb. dumbbells used for ALL bicep curls except the static arm curl set
*40-lb. dumbbells used for upright rows

I was pushing myself so hard on some exercises that I had to compensate by going easier on others. For example, I can usually do 20-lb. weights for the seated shoulder flies, but I had to drop down to only 12 tonight. Straight arm shoulder flies was the same story: dropped from 12 down to 10. Also, for some reason I was unable to do more than 10 chair dips. Early on, my shoulder felt super agitated so I had to stop. In an odd twist, this soreness eased up as the workout progressed.

I’m starting to realize that it’s my left elbow that is really giving me problems with easy injury. I noticed this when I was using my left arm to do the side tri-rise. This is good news though. The more specific I can get with describing this pain, the more likely I can get an answer as to what I should do about it.

I’ve been plugging along with the P90X Qualification course. On the night I signed up, I did 4 courses. Eventually I managed to knock out the fifth lesson. Then, last night I did two more. That leaves only four more to go. So far my average is around 91. Can’t wait until the workshop gets here in September!

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in ab ripper x, abs, arms, brett hoebel, elbow, exercise, fitness, home fitness, hybrids, P90X, p90x certification, pain, rev abs, shoulders and arms, team beachbody, tony horton, weightlifting, workout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

