P90X/Rev Abs Hybrid: Day 82 (Legs and Back)

I did all my pull-ups tonight without the aid of a chair, just to see how many I can do. Why? Testing myself for the upcoming P90X Certification class. Here are the results.

I was able to do 10 close-grip overhand pull-ups without taking any break. For wide grip and reverse grip, I did 10…but I had to pause after 5 or 6. Then I did 12 with the switch grip pull-ups. These are the only four that you do during Legs and Back.

My results during Back and Biceps were a lot worse. Part of this was due to the fact that my biceps were screaming in agony from the curls. I found out that I can’t even do a SINGLE “towel pull-up.” And as for “corn cob pull-ups,” I’d rather not even go there!

This had me thinking about something Tony said during one of the workouts. He said, “Everyone has their weaknesses and their strengths. Me, I’m pull-up boy…” Then he went on how to describe someone else was better at tricep moves than him, but his statement lingered in my mind. I thought to myself, “Dammit, *I* want to be pull-up boy!”

The thing is, I will really have to work on it. I think the only answer to this might be forcing myself to do the pull-ups without the help of a chair, no matter how pathetic those towel/corn cob pull-ups make me feel! After all, how will I ever be able to teach P90X in a gym if I can’t do the moves?

This made me think about my other weaknesses. When it comes down to it, I really feel like I have only about three trouble areas (which isn’t bad, considering how many exercises these programs put me through):

*pull-ups
*balance (REALLY sloppy during some Yoga moves)
*certain push-ups

One-arm/dive bomber/side-arm balance push-ups still give me trouble (plus maybe one or two more I can’t think of right now). Regarding the balance issue, I will just have to push my way through Yoga X from now on instead of playing it safe with Fountain of Youth. No more excuses!!!

As a closing note, I WAS going to put flexibility down…but I think the only move where that becomes a concern is the Reverse Half Moon during Yoga X. While my flexibility certainly isn’t what it is when I was in my late teens/early 20’s, I don’t think I am in bad enough shape to consider it a big issue.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, back, balance, biceps, brett hoebel, exercise, flexibility, fountain of youth, home fitness, hybrids, legs, legs and back, P90X, p90x certification, pull-ups, push-ups, rev abs, team beachbody, tony horton, triceps, workout, yoga, yoga x. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

