P90X/Rev Abs Hybrid: Day 85 (Yoga X)

I didn’t get to do Yoga X at work because…well, I just didn’t feel like it. So I decided to give it a try when I got home. Diana went out shopping with my mother-in-law, and I had all four kids with me. For a while they entertained themselves around me, sometimes even joining in on the exercises, but it didn’t take long before this all ended in failure. Once they start to get on each other’s nerves, it takes a slow and steady hand to turn things back around. Needless to say, I had to stop and start the program so much that by this point I wasn’t really feeling any effects from it. Aside from that, my elbows were really killing me during the sun salutations…especially since I was trying to do them RIGHT this time. (Up until today, I never realized you were supposed to have your knees off the floor for upward dog!) Needless to say, the elbow pain also kept me from doing side arm balance.

On top of all of the above, I was frustrated by my lack of flexiblity for a good portion of the moves. Turns out I DO nee to add that to my list of areas to work on. This is just a PARTIAL list of the moves my flexibility kept me from doing:

*Prayer Twist
*Reverse Prayer Twist
*Triangle Pose
*Right Angle Pose with Grab

Another nemesis of mine is Crane. Tony says how it’s okay to keep one toe on the floor. Well consider this, Tony: ONE TOE IS ALL I HAVE EVER BEEN ABLE TO GET OFF THE FLOOR!!!

I hate Yoga X, but I am going to have to somehow get over it if I am going to take the P90X Certification class. As of right now, I have NO idea how to get better at it. After all, you do it only once a week (twice during recovery week). Who knows? Maybe when I am wiped out while on the Ultimate Reset detox, I will do nothing but Yoga X every day.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in brett hoebel, cleanse, elbow, exercise, fitness, flexibility, home fitness, hybrids, injury, inspiration, P90X, p90x certification, pain, plank, recovery week, rev abs, side arm balance, stretching, team beachbody, tony horton, ultimate reset, workout, yoga, yoga x. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

