P90X/Rev Abs Hybrid: Day 89 (Yoga X)

Tomorrow is day 90, but today was the last workout. Every time I get to the end of a hybrid, it feels so weird that I finally got there! In about a week, I will be starting yet another 90 day program: P90X Classic Plus. Following that, it is the triple 30 day threat of Asylum, P90X/Asylum hybrid and then the Insanity/Asylum hybrid. If 90 days feels like it flies by, I wonder how fast THOSe three will disappear!

I figured out which moves are my weakest in Yoga X: they would be any that have to do with putting your elbow on the outside of your knee. For example, Prayer Twist. Here are all the ones I can remember off the top of my head:

*Prayer Twist
*Right Angle Pose with Grab
*Twisting Chair
*Triangle Pose
*Twisting Triangle Pose
*Twisting Half Moon
*Shoulder Stand to Plough

Also, this muscle in my outer right thigh kept twitching during Standing Splits, so I had to keep dropping out of it. This was particularly annoying, as Standing Splits is not a hard move!

Another difficult part I recall is when you come out of plough. You drop your knees around your ears, and then you are supposed to slowly roll out of it. Tony says each vertebrae should touch the ground one by one. Yeah…not in the cards for me yet. Try as I might, I can’t help but roll out of it super fast.

One thing that I think might help out: Yoga X has no warm-up or stretching in the beginning. Even though this workout is already long enough, I might benefit from just doing a quick warm-up/stretch routine first.

Maybe during my recovery week, I will watch the video and write down all the moves I have problems with and why. Then I will know for sure what I have to work on.

My major concern: I am going to the P90X Certification shop at the end of September. Even if I graduate, how can I possibly convince people I know my stuff when I can’t even do a good handful of the moves? Also, despite my best efforts of sticking to diet and pushing myself with exercise, I still have a bit of a gut. Won’t that ALSO make me teaching P90X a hard sell???

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, brett hoebel, confidence, exercise, fitness, flexibility, home fitness, hybrids, insanity, insanity the asylum, P90X, p90x certification, p90x classic plus, rev abs, stretching, team beachbody, tony horton, workout, x stretch, yoga, yoga x. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to P90X/Rev Abs Hybrid: Day 89 (Yoga X)

  1. Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your
    next write ups thanks once again.

Leave a Reply

