P90X Classic Plus: Days 1 to 3 (Upper Body Plus-Abs/Core Plus-Interval X Plus-Total Body Plus)

My first day of this routine was supposed to be on Saturday but, since I would be in Maine and didn’t want to drag a bunch of equipment, I did it on Thursday…my birthday. It was very difficult, and I couldn’t understand why I was unable to keep up with Tony and the gang even when I used weights that were much lighter than what I used during regular P90X.

Sunday was supposed to be Interval X Plus. However, after a long ride home and dragging all our traveling stuff back into the house, I didn’t feel like it! Later on at night, I was looking at pictures from our trip and noticed my gut was getting huge again. Combining this with the fact that I wasn’t very enthusiastic about the Plus routines made me start to have second thoughts.

Now I am thinking about doing the Ultimate Reset as soon as I can order it and buy all the groceries needed for the three-week detox. Originally I was going to do the Reset JUST before I head off for Coach Summit next year. However, after seeing that belly, I realized I need to do something NOW. The Reset will help me lose weight now AND help me prepare to eat better for the future. So by the time I am P90X Certified and able to teach in gyms, people will take me seriously. My weak point is still eating right even while I am away, which I am sure people on my team can help me out with.

So all that was worked out in my head, and I figured I would just stop doing Classic Plus when the Reset got here, right? After all, I wasn’t that interested in the routines because I couldn’t do them! Then I did Total Body Plus this morning, and I hit upon something I should have seen from the start: in the Plus routines, you are lifting weights based on TIME LIMITS, not NUMBER OF REP LIMITS. Therefore you should use a weight that you know you could lift for a minute or so.

Despite this revelation, I think I will still quit the Plus program once the Ultimate Reset arrives. I need to get this weight and eating issue under control, or else the money I have spent on the P90X Certification will be wasted.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, abs core plus, analysis, arms, back, biceps, chest, cleanse, crunches, exercise, fitness, flexibility, home fitness, insanity the asylum, interval, interval training, interval x plus, legs, observation, p90x certification, p90x classic plus, P90X Plus, pull-ups, push-ups, shoulders, strength training, stretching, team beachbody, tony horton, total body, total body plus, triceps, ultimate reset, upper body, upper body plus, weightlifting, workout. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

