P90X Classic: Day 17 (Total Body Plus)

I prepped myself mentally yesterday for the fact that I have to do my workouts BEFORE work this Monday through Wednesday. Why? Because I am working 12:30pm to midnight for the next three days. Obviously, that means no time to do them when I get home. These extra-long days made me start thinking: “If I have a long day, and the overtime part of my day is boring as hell, then wouldn’t I be better off doing the 10 Minute Trainer version of the workouts instead of exhausting myself via P90X?”

I posed this question to my team mates. My coach (known as Shu) said I should try the P90X+ workout on Monday and see how I feel. If it leaves me too exhausted, then I can do TMT for the next two days. (Of course, the downside to this is that if I AM too beat tonight, then I will get in a sh*tload of trouble if I fall asleep at my desk…especially on overtime!!!)

At any rate, I feel good for now. Plus I know the work we will have in there today won’t be all that demanding. It never is…physically speaking. Emotionally is another story. When you work around a bunch of people who are always miserable, and the only way they can find joy is by making everyone around them just as depressed, it can drain you after a while. Some people can put up a fight longer than others, but it’s hard to make that positive feeling sustain forever in an environment like this.

Still, I am going to fight the good fight until I get out of that place. For me it’s a bit easier than most: I just look up my favorite comedians on Pandora and listen to them as much as I can throughout the day! Humor is probably the greatest weapon I have.

PS: Back to the workout issue, I am definitely doing 10 Minute Trainer Yoga Flex tomorrow morning because (1) William will be up, and I can’t even get through Fountain of Youth with that little whirlwind running around, and (2) my foot still hurts too much to do those extended Yoga X poses.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, exercise, fitness, foot, fountain of youth, home fitness, humor, injury, misery, P90X, p90x classic plus, P90X Plus, pain, team beachbody, tony horton, total body, total body plus, work, workout, yoga, yoga flex, yoga x. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

