P90X Classic Plus: Week 5

A pretty groundbreaking week, if I do say so myself. Why? Because I found that when I swapped my Kenpo and Yoga nights, I don’t do so bad at yoga after all! Now instead of doing Yoga X on Tuesdays, I do it on Thursdays. This is significant because, since Friday is my day off, it’s okay if I stay up late doing Yoga X! So now I don’t have to worry about getting everything else done that I normally have to rush to do on Tuesday nights.

I started this last week, but I figured I would mention it again here: you can see me doing moves from these workouts at my fitness-dedicated Youtube channel:

http://www.youtube.com/user/coachstevieg2012

UPPER BODY PLUS and ABS/CORE PLUS

The usual routine here, except I found out I would benefit from heavier weights for certain exercises. Also, I believe this was the day when I was finally able to do the 360 Chatarunga Run during Abs/Core Plus. What a fun exercise!

PLYOMETRICS

By this point of the week I had started developing a real bad hacking cough, so I had to stop during the workout several times while my body rebelled against me.

TOTAL BODY PLUS and KENPO CARDIO PLUS

A pretty standard day for these two. Nothing new to report.

LEGS AND BACK and ABS/CORE PLUS

An AWESOME report for Legs and Back: I made a commitment to do 10 pull-ups every time, no matter how many breaks I had to take…and I did it! In fact, I did 10 straight without having to drop down when we did the second round of Reverse Grip Chin-Ups. The only time I didn’t achieve 10 was the last time we did Switch Grip Pull-Ups because my elbow hurt REALLY bad, so I felt it was better to stop than push the issue.

YOGA X

What can I say? Once William was asleep, it was much easier to do this workout without having to worry about being exhausted for work the next day! Also, I found out there are very few positions that I truly have trouble with. The main ones would be any that involve twisting: Seated Spinal Stretch, Chair Twist, Prayer Twist, Twisting Triangle Pose, Reverse Half Moon, Crane and Right Angle Pose with a Grab. When you consider how many moves are in Yoga X, that’s not a bad percentage.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in abs, abs core plus, back, biceps, chest, core, crunches, elbow, exercise, fitness, flexibility, home fitness, injury, kenpo, kenpo x, kenpo x plus, legs, legs and back, P90X, p90x classic plus, P90X Plus, pain, plyometrics, pull-ups, push-ups, shoulders, side arm balance, speed skaters, strength training, stretching, team beachbody, tony horton, total body, total body plus, triceps, upper body, upper body plus, weightlifting, woodchopper, workout, yoga, yoga x, youtube videos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

