Review: Slimkicker.com

Recently I was contacted by someone from SlimKicker to see if I would like to test out an app they will be releasing soon. I agreed, and in the meantime I checked out their site.

Slimkicker is different from other online fitness tracking sites because you get to earn points whenever you log in your meals or workouts. It is almost like a roleplaying game where you get to level up, and you get to assign yourself rewards for each level. (You make up the rewards, although it stands to reason it shouldn’t be something like, “Eat an entire 12-cut pizza by myself.”)

There are plenty of things to do on the site. For current activity, there is something called the “inspiration feed,” which is like your news feed on Facebook. You can also find message boards and user-created groups, not to mention the Challenges. Users create 30-day challenges to earn a massive amount of points, something like 100 points per day. Given how challenging some of these goals will be to people (example: no soda for 30 days), that seems like a valid amount of points to reward them with!

One thing that is great: I find it MUCH easier to log the workouts and food on this. I gave up on myfitnesspal because entering my daily food was such a hassle. Here, it is a much more time-friendly system. As for workouts, I can simply create my own by typing “P90X Plus, Upper Body Plus” and then hitting the “create exercise” button. However, it is worth your time to get a heart rate monitor that also measures calories burned so you can enter that when you create your exercise. Why? More calories burned means more points!

As for cons of the site, there aren’t many. One thing that is beyond their control is that the site doesn’t seem to get much use on anything other than the inspiration feed. I posted a comment on several message board threads, and there has been no activity on them since then (three days ago). The newest post before mine was from 11 days ago.

There is no way to browse for other users. Although there IS an option on a dropdown menu called “Search users,” you are taken to a screen where you have to input someone’s screen name. They should add a way for users to create a list of interests. For example, if I put “P90X”in a search engine, I could get people who were interested in that.

One minor fault I find in the site is that there is no way for users to send private messages to each other, and it doesn’t look like it will ever be implemented. I just don’t like the fact that, if I want to talk to someone outside of Slimkicker, I can give them my email…but only by posting it in a way where EVERYONE can see it.

These are really just minor flaws, and one of them (the frequency of usage) is beyond their control. Also, I should note that this was my experience just using the WEBSITE. I have not used the iPhone app, and I’m not sure I can get it on Straight Talk.

However you cut it, this is a site worth joining.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in accountability, challenge groups, discussion boards, exercise, fitness, off-topic, review, slimkicker, team beachbody. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

