P90X Classic Plus: Week 6

Time for another week in review!

UPPER BODY PLUS: Business as usual with this workout. I was able to use 20-lb. dumbbells for most of the bicep exercises, which is pretty amazing to me considering the Plus workouts are more about endurance than reps.

PLYOMETRICS: My cough still interfered with my ability to make my way through this workout, although it can’t be blamed all on the illness. Time away from Insanity has reduced my ability to make it through this workout. There was a time when I could get through without having to take any extra breaks. Not so anymore.

TOTAL BODY PLUS: I am really growing to love this workout, especially the 3 x 3 exercise (three squats, three push-ups and three pull-ups).

KENPO CARDIO PLUS: As always, I love my martial arts days. This week I decided to do something different when Traci Morrow and Mark Briggs did the Gladiator. Originally all I did was change it so I did a straight blast instead of what they do on the video, but this time I made it like a drill in class. I kept my eye on Traci and Mark. Whenever my eyes picked up that they were starting to move, I would launch into the straight blast. My goal was to do as many punches as I could from the moment they started moving until they came down to their knees and punched toward the ground. On average, I was able to do 8 punches.

LEGS AND BACK: I had a very exhausting day at work, so I did only 5 pull-ups max for each back exercise. Even then, my elbow started to tweak at the end so I couldn’t even do 5.

YOGA X: The elbow problem continued into this workout, so I was not able to do the chatarunga properly; all I could do was drop my his to the ground from plank position and then into upward dog. Despite all that, I feel like I am finally getting better at this workout. There are fewer and fewer moves that I have problems doing.

All in all, I feel things are getting better. The one thing that sucks is I looked ahead into the routine and saw that it consists of the same workouts every day right up until the end of this program, so tonight I decided to look at the REGULAR P90X Classic program and I decided to replace workouts in my current schedule with routines from THAT one, just so I can avoid boredom over the next few weeks. I think I did a successful job.

Last but not least, I start CDL vehicle training on Monday. I will be going 7am-12pm, then heading right to work 12:30-8:30pm. With this in mind, I am swapping out EVERY repetition of Abs/Core Plus with Ab Ripper X. Why? Because ARX requires no equipment, so my plan is to do that workout on my lunch breaks so I have only one routine to do when I get home.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in ab ripper x, abs, abs core plus, arms, back, biceps, chest, elbow, exercise, fitness, flexibility, home fitness, injury, kenpo, kenpo x, kenpo x plus, legs, legs and back, P90X, p90x classic plus, P90X Plus, pain, plyometrics, pull-ups, push-ups, review, shoulders, side arm balance, strength training, stretching, team beachbody, tony horton, total body, total body plus, triceps, upper body, upper body plus, weightlifting, workout, yoga, yoga x. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

