P90X Classic Plus: Weeks 7 through 9

I’m playing a lot of catch-up here. Things have been so damn busy that I haven’t had the time to write these blogs, even though I post only one per week!

Things have gotten very hectic. I’m still working 12:30-8:30pm. However, I am now also going to school in the mornings (7am to noon). I used to work long hours like this and still be able to do my exercises when I got home. However, that was back when I was doing 10 Minute Trainer…not P90X or P90X Plus. So I have had to modify my routine: even though I am still technically doing P90X Classic Plus, I’ve been doing multiple rounds of 10 Minute Trainer workouts.

How has this been working out? Surprisingly, not bad! I still get a good burn from 10 Minute Trainer workouts because they are so rapid-fire; there isn’t a lot of pausing between exercises like there is during the P90X videos. (I love Tony Horton, but the man CAN talk too much.)

This is how I do things now: I look at whatever P90X workout I am supposed to do for the night. Then I pick whatever 10 Minute Trainer video is most comparable to it and do 2-3 rounds. EXAMPLE: on the night that I am supposed to do Legs and Back, I will do all the lower body workouts that I have for 10 Minute Trainer. This will include 2 rounds of the Lower Body routine, and then one round of the Lower Body that can be found on the One on One disc.

There is one exception I am going to make to this rule, and that is when it comes to my Yoga X night. What I have been doing is one round of Yoga Flex, two wing chun forms, another round of Yoga Flex, and then two more forms. However, for those of you who don’t know, Yoga Flex has one thing wrong with it: the workout is pretty boring! So what I did was order the P90X One on One Patience Hummingbird workout. From what they tell me, this is a 30 minute yoga routine, which is a lot better for my time crunch than Yoga X or even Fountain of Youth.

It really stinks that my current program was interrupted so much by school and work because I already had plans to cut this one short (by two weeks) so I could do the Ultimate Reset. With all this switching out of routines and stopping two weeks before I am supposed to, this means I can’t write an accurate review of the effectiveness of this particular round. Oh well…sometimes time isn’t ours to control, I guess. We just have to do what we can.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in 10 Minute Trainer, ab ripper x, abs, abs core plus, accountability, arms, back, biceps, biu jee, chest, chum kiu, exercise, fitness, home fitness, kenpo, martial arts, P90X, p90x classic plus, P90X Plus, sil lum tao, strength training, team beachbody, tony horton, triceps, ultimate reset, upper body, upper body plus, weightlifting, wooden dummy, yoga, yoga flex, yoga x. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to P90X Classic Plus: Weeks 7 through 9

  1. Pingback: P90X Classic Plus: Weeks 7 through 9 | Stevie G's Fast Fitness Track | 10 Minute Workout Reviews

  2. whoah this blog is magnificent i love reading your posts.
    Stay up the good work! You know, a lot of individuals are
    searching around for this information, you can aid them greatly.

Leave a Reply

