Book Review: THE SLIGHT EDGE

This was the first book my Beachbody Coach recommended to me, and the knowledge contained in it is indeed indispensable for this business. However, I believe it could be applied to ALL parts of life. The logic behind it is quite simple: actions that produce small results, repeated over a long period of time, will eventually yield BIG results. However, like most simple truths, this knowledge is lost upon the masses.

It isn’t difficult to understand why most people miss this piece of wisdom. The ’80s was the “me” decade, but this is the “NOW NOW NOW” generation. People are so used to being able to get what they want immediately that they don’t have any appreciation for WAITING. Want to get your favorite band’s latest album before it even hits the stores? Feel like getting P90X without having to save up for it? Any moves you don’t feel like paying a fortune to see in the theaters? It’s easy enough to find a torrent site where you can get ALL of these things. (Here we hit upon another thing that irritates me about the modern world: people want to get everything for free. They have no concept of actually having to EARN something anymore.)

The lessons taught by this book will not appeal to the “instant gratification” crowd but, if you want to make it in Beachbody, it is essential reading. I can’t tell you how many people have said “no” to this business just because they won’t make enough money to quit their day job in a week. If they would only read this book, some of them might think this business is worth giving a chance. (Then again, some people are so set in their “NOW NOW NOW” ways that one book wouldn’t be enough to change their minds.)

Another reason this book is so important is because it can keep people from being overwhelmed and discouraged. When I started with Beachbody, I was so lost: “I want to build this business, but where do I start? How do I reach out to people? What do I say?”

Then I read THE SLIGHT EDGE, and things started to come together. I needed a slow and steady approach that would fit into my schedule, so I talked with Shu about it and worked one out. I started applying Olson’s philosophy before I even finished the book by reading a mere ten pages per day. Dispensing of the “finish it as fast as possible” mentality proved to be an incredible gain, not only because it meant getting away from the “instant gratification” way of living, but taking the book in slower meant I was able to retain more.

There is only one thing that bothered me about this book: in the beginning, I found the writing style to be very irritating.

Here is a paraphrased example. Olson would write about someone who failed to reach a goal they set for themselves, and then he would say something like this:

“They failed for one reason.

They didn’t have the Slight Edge.

But I do.

And I’m going to tell you about it.

Right now.

I promise.

Are you ready?

Because here it comes.”

I’m exaggerating (but only some) for the sense of humor, but that is the way it felt to me. I found myself actually getting angry at a book! My wife thought I was crazy because I started shouting…at a book: “Dammit, will you get to the point????” It’s almost as if by dragging it out this way, Olson was trying to see if you could already understand and follow the Slight Edge philosophy because, once you get past the dragging parts, the book really does take off and provide you with a skill that is necessary if you want to succeed at whatever you do, whether it is Beachbody or not.

The Slight Edge: Secret to a Successful Life

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, books, personal development, review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: THE SLIGHT EDGE

  1. Ana says:

    That’s a great book 🙂 I totaly recommend it too

Leave a Reply

