Book Review: FAILING FORWARD

Out of all the personal development books I have read so far, I think this one is the most essential to anyone pursuing the Beachbody business. However, as is the case with ANY book I review, it could be applied to life in general.

The main lesson of the book is to change how people feel about failure by making them recognize one simple truth: in life, you will fail more often than you succeed. It’s how you DEAL with failure that really defines your character. Do you fail forward or backward? By this the author means: do you learn from your failures and forge ahead, or do you feel sorry for yourself and mope?

The book is incredibly well-written with lots of clear, concise examples of several success stories, which are preceded by FAILURE stories. Now some of you may think, “Well, I’ve never tried to build my own business before Beachbody, so I don’t have any experience with going through multiple failures before achieving success.” However, if you learn to expand this lesson beyond the scope of just business and include every aspect of your life, you will realize this book’s lessons CAN be applied to you.

Look at it this way: let’s say you take a married man or woman as an example. Now I want you to think of all the boyfriends and girlfriends this married person went through before they wound up meeting their spouse. Let’s say they had seven partners throughout their life before their spouse. Should they think of themselves as failures simply because they had seven failed relationships but only one successful one? Of course not!

Here we also strike upon another important lesson in the book: the other thing that shapes how you feel about yourself is how you define success. If you were to go by numbers, then technically the guy who has been happily married for twenty years is a failure because he stayed with only one wife but dumped (or got dumped by) seven girlfriends. So your definition of success is just as important. You need the ability to apply these lessons to your life IN GENERAL, and they will certainly help you with Beachbody.

Failing Forward: Turning Mistakes into Stepping Stones for Success

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, books, personal development, review, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: FAILING FORWARD

  1. Lacretia says:

    Great review and I love the concepts you discussed. Many people believe failure means you are on your last leg but it can be turned around and we will discover them in business,relationships, friendships and many times in life.

  2. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours nowadays, yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is pretty price sufficient for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did, the web might be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

