Finally sharing my thoughts on Newtown…

It has taken me a while to get around to writing this, mainly because life has been a whirlwind since I got home, but also because I had to let a little time pass before I wrote about it. Every now and then I get super sensitive about a news story, especially if it involves something as horrible as this. I get so worked up that you would think one of MY kids was in that school. Then again, I don’t know any parent who wouldn’t feel the pain of those families, especially if you have a child the same age as the ones who lost their lives.

What I never understand about these sick bastards is this: if you are so damn unhappy with your life, then why not just sit home and take YOURSELF out? It seems like 99% of them do that in the end anyway. Is that the ultimate “F*** you” for these creeps? It’s like their way of flipping the world off one last time. “Haha, pricks, I killed a bunch of kids and then took myself out so I can’t even be brought to justice.” It’s enough to make you want to dig up the bastard’s corpse and let Ed Gein have his way with them.

I think it is despicable that some people have used this tragedy to start up with their political agendas about gun control, but then again I have heard WORSE reaction than that. Recently I was in a car with someone who said something along the lines of, “I’m sick of hearing about it already. Little kids get killed every day.” My response was, “Yeah…and if we heard about all those stories on the news too, then we would STILL be horrified.” When that insensitive jerk spit out that sentence, I found myself wishing I knew the families that lost someone in that shooting. Then I’d introduce them to this bastard and pin his arms behind his back so they could take turns spitting in his face. How ridiculous!

Aside from gun control issues, this tragedy also inspired the Western Baptist Church to come down and picket funerals. Yes, you read that right: these loving, religious people wanted to PICKET THE FUNERALS OF LITTLE CHILDREN!!! What’s their reason? Because that guy shooting all those kids was God “executing His will.” (That’s directly from their website! While I’m talking about their site, I should point out that their URL is NOT “westernbaptistchurch.com.” Oh, no…instead it’s “godhatesfags.com.”) They think God sent that shooter to slaughter their children because God is upset with Connecticut for legalizing gay marriage.

I mean, of all the foolish things. What is the big deal? How does two men or women getting married hurt ANYONE? Humans were around for a long time before marriage came along. Since marriage is just an idea that we made up, then I don’t see the big deal in changing the rules. These whackos want to go by the fact that marriage is depicted as being between a man and a woman in the Bible. Well, then what is their stance on the fact that sometimes marriage was between a man and MULTIPLE women???

And now, my take on this idea of either arming the teachers or having police in the schools: it is a damn good idea either way. After all, did the shooter care that there weren’t supposed to be any guns on the property? The only danger I see is if some teacher was dumb enough to leave their gun in an unlocked desk or left it otherwise unattended.

In an ideal world, there would be no need for guns. When my mom was a kid, they could go away on vacation and leave their house unlocked. The world was more “innocent” (for lack of a better term) back then. But that isn’t America’s reality anymore. I have never owned a gun myself, but I think more and more about getting one each day.

Some people think everyone would wind up being in the streets shooting each other over ridiculous things (“Hey, your dog took a crap on my lawn!”), but I don’t think that would be the case. I don’t believe…hell, I CAN’T believe…that deep down there is an Adam Lanza in all of us waiting to come out. However, the decent people of this world NEED access to weapons so we can defend ourselves against those kind of maniacs.

For a long time I didn’t know what side of the gun debate I stood on. Lately I decided: to not believe in owning a gun is kind of like believing I shouldn’t have the right to learn martial arts. Think about it: I was always bullied in school, so I started learning wing chun to handle myself. If the federal government said all martial arts schools had to be shut down, then I’d get pretty heated!

There is one common misconception about people like me, and I think it holds true for those who want to own guns too: no one learns a martial art because they WANT to use it. We learn it for defense, in case some jerk off comes along who decides they want to push us around, and who then decides they want to pound our faces in just because we won’t take their shit.

The same holds true of guns: I wouldn’t want to use one, but if someone breaks into my house, then I might have to. I don’t know what they might be up to. Maybe they just wanted to steal something, but what if they went into my four year old son’s room? What if I woke up and surprised the burglar, then in a panic they grabbed him and held a knife to his throat?

There are no easy answers when it comes to issues like this. I am not saying I know what’s right for the country or the world. All I know is MY OPINION, and I feel we should have the right to arm ourselves. Criminals would find a way to get guns anyway. You might as well have a law that allows decent citizens to protect themselves.

About Steve Grogan

I am 40 years old, divorced, and a father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in analysis, gay, gun control, guns, impressions, life, marriage, martial arts, newtown ct, observation, off-topic, random, rant, religion, same sex marriage, school shooting, self-defense, tragedy, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

