Updates on My Own Fitness

Things have been a bit of a whirlwind since I got home, so I wasn’t able to do any kind of fitness…at least, not on a consistent basis. As of right now I will be leaving for another on-the-road experience with a new trucking company on January 1st, with training to start on the 2nd. Since I will be in a hotel room first and then in a truck with a trainer second, I need to do workouts that (1) aren’t too long and (2) don’t take up much space or need a lot of equipment. That automatically means I need to do cardio-based workouts.

For Christmas my wife bought me Les Mills Combat. This is a 60-day cardio program that uses moves from several martial arts styles. I decided to do this workout first because of its length and the amount of space it takes up: I will be on the road with a trainer for 5-6 weeks, so this program fits in nicely. In fact, I will still be doing this program once I am in my OWN truck. On top of that, this workout isn’t super intense so I can ease myself back into a cardio-heavy routine.

When I have moved on from the trainer, I will do Asylum Volume 1. This requires SOME equipment (the agility ladder, plus there are some pull-up moves), but I will be in my own truck so that’s all good. Also, even though it requires some chin-ups, I can simply bring along a set of resistance bands and do the “modified” versions like they do in P90X.

After doing Asylum solo, I want to do the hybrid with Insanity. There is one very simple reason for this: even though I am going to be in my own truck, space will still be limited. I won’t have the room to bring a ton of different weights like I would need if I did the P90X/Asylum hybrid.

So what is my plan for the workouts where I need weights? I am going to buy a set of Power Blocks, like these here:

http://www.powerblock.com/prod_homeuse_u90stage1.php

With shipping, these will cost me around $440. (I looked into sporting goods stores around here, and no one carries them…so shipping is unfortunately necessary.) Today I just sold off ALL my weights for $200. Naturally, that leaves me with $240 to go. If I could save as little as $20 per week, then I’d have my other $240 in 12 weeks (or about 3 months).

Do the math with my programs: Les Mills Combat is 60 days (about two months), Asylum is 30 (about one month) and the Asylum/Insanity hybrid is 30 (another month). That’s four months. I should easily have saved up for the Power Blocks by then. Plus I’m giving myself an extra month in case something stalls my ability to save up.

And I am doing all of this DESPITE the fact that I will be living the trucker lifestyle. All it takes is the will to tell yourself what you want to do, sit down, and then figure out HOW to do it!

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in cardio, exercise, home fitness, hybrids, insanity, insanity the asylum, P90X, perseverance, power blocks, pull-ups, resistance bands, shaun t, team beachbody, tony horton, trucker, weightlifting, weights, workout. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Updates on My Own Fitness

  1. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  2. Ted Kinlin says:

    I needed to post you the very small remark to help give thanks again just for the nice knowledge you have provided above. It’s really tremendously generous of you to allow unreservedly what a lot of folks would’ve made available for an ebook to earn some dough on their own, mostly given that you might well have done it in case you decided. These good tips additionally served like a great way to recognize that many people have a similar zeal really like mine to find out a whole lot more in respect of this issue. I think there are a lot more enjoyable opportunities ahead for many who start reading your blog post.

  3. Coach Leon says:

    I have had the Power Blocks for about a year now. These are excellent tools to get the job done. I like the balance of these over the Selectech, IMO.

    • wcman1976 says:

      I was going to go with Select Tech…until I called a sport store, and they told me some of the Select Techs got recalled for defective issues. I haven’t heard any complaints like that about Power Blocks.

  4. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and also the rest of the website is very good.

  5. I just want to mention I am just very new to blogging and honestly enjoyed your page. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You definitely have incredible well written articles. Thanks for revealing your website page.

  6. Please email me with any hints & tips about how you made this blog site look this good, Id be thankful!

  7. A cool blog post right there mate ! Cheers for that .

  8. click this says:

    Super-Duper blog! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also

Leave a Reply

