Happy New Year/Thoughts on the Immediate Future

I’m not going to go into a lot of cliches here, but I DO have some resolutions. Some of these come in the shape of multiple parts.

*Be an even better family man (both husband and dad). Some people might say I am already pretty damn good at these things, but I look at it the way I look at wing chun…or writing…or ANYTHING: you can always be better.

*Work harder again at getting my writing out there in any way possible. I want to start posting poems here. I am also going to start actively looking for artists to help me turn short stories into comics. Those stories that never get drawn will be sent out to magazines again.

*Attend wing chun at least once a month. Practice my forms multiple times a day. Write down a list of all the parts of the second form (chum kiu) that I don’t understand and send them to my teacher. Recently he said to me, “In order to be a Sifu, you need a deeper understanding of the system.” So I need to work on that.

*Start following the nutrition guides to the workout programs that I do so I can see REAL results. Next up to bat is Les Mills Combat. This will be followed by Asylum Volume 1, then the Insanity/Asylum hybrid.

*****

Well, tomorrow I have to take a bus at 10:30am to Syracuse so I can start working for a new over-the-road company called Swift. The orientation starts on January 2, but it’s at 7:00am so that is why I am taking the bus a day ahead.

I don’t want to go over the road again. I was hoping that this local company would call me back, but that hasn’t happened yet. They interviewed me on December 21. On Thursday the 27th I tried calling them; I was told no decision had been made, and I was able to leave one of the guys who interviewed me a message. No call back though. They had one driver position open because a guy just got promoted. Then this other driver will be retiring on January 4th. Maybe it’d be a good idea to try calling on January 7th. It can’t hurt.

Aside from trucking, there is another position I am interested in for the State. According to the Civil Service website, there will be an exam on June 1 for Parole Officer Trainee 1. The pay grade starts at a 13, which is pretty high up there. Then you can move on to Trainee 2 without having to take another test, and then finally you drop the “Trainee” and become just a plain old Parole Officer, which I believe is a grade 21. Not bad for just one test!

I don’t want to leave. Right now my son William is playing in the back room with his cousin, completely oblivious to the fact that I will be leaving for a long time again. When I am on the road I will talk with him and my wife via Skype. I hate the sad look on his face when he says he wants me back here. It’s almost enough to make me want to ask Civil Service if I can be reinstated NOW, but I know my pay as a grade 6 will no longer cut it. That would mean either working tons of overtime or getting a second job again.

From my brief experience on the road, I can tell you the part I hate the most is not being able to come home to my wife and son after a bad day at work. No matter how bad it got at OCFS, I could come home and play with William, then cuddle with my wife as we drifted off to sleep. Nothing can take the place of that.

About wcman1976

I am 38 years old, separated, father of four kids. I am a practitioner of a self-defense system called wing chun kung fu. My other hobbies include writing, playing guitar, reading, watching movies, and listening to music. Recently I have gotten back into fitness, and this time I am DETERMINED to get the washboard abs...whether my metabolism will cooperate with me or not! The purpose of this blog is to write not only about my hobbies, but also about whatever crosses my mind, whether it is something I don't understand or something that aggravates me. So join me as I indulge my tendency to think too much about topics that don't usually cross anyone else's mind!
This entry was posted in art, artist, chum kiu, class a license, comic book, diet, fitness, health, home fitness, hybrids, insanity, insanity the asylum, life, martial arts, new year, nutrition, observation, off-topic, resolution, sadness, shaun t, short stories, team beachbody, truck driver, trucker, web comic, wing chun, work, workout, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year/Thoughts on the Immediate Future

  1. Rick Reppin says:

    I couldn’t imagine leaving my family for long periods of time! I admire you for making a better future for your family! Keep up the good work!!!

Leave a Reply

